Confessional: I Have a Minor Pinterest Obsession

Have you heard about Pinterest? Yes? Am I late to this party?

If yes, good for you, I guess I was living under a rock for a while.

If no, then let me be the evangelist here. It’s awesome! It’s basically a virtual bulletin board. You can post photos of anything you want to try, and store information such as pricing, links for where to buy, links to recipes etc. You can have as many boards as you want, to keep things organized. You can pin anything – ideas for home decor, fashion and style ideas, recipes to try, places to visit, books to read…anything.

Best part? You don’t even have to have the image files on your computer and slowly upload them (though that’s an option). You can just be browsing, say, Etsy or Banana Republic, and just copy the link to that dress you love the look of, paste the link into Pinterest and it will find the image for you. If you enter the price in the caption then it tags it with the price across the top left corner of the photo so you can easily see how much it costs. It also creates a link back to the dress so you won’t forget where you found it.

Also, it’s a social networking tool. So you can follow other people who keep boards and like other people’s images. You can browse other people’s boards and repin photos they chose, which is awesome because two heads are always better than one, right?

You don’t even have to sign up for a whole separate account – you can just log in using your Twitter or Facebook account (mine is linked to my Twitter). You don’t have to (I don’t ) but you can also set it up to automatically update your Twitter or Facebook account each time you post.

I don’t know, I’m kind of smitten. In this paperless age it’s way better (and cheaper) than clipping magazine articles and recipes and photos…you get the picture (though we still love doing things old school from time to time). You can check my boards out at www.pinterest.com/AnnaWootton – though I haven’t really done anything much more than a couple of boards for the beach decor theme I’m going for with our new place. Some of the images on my boards have been included throughout this post. We’re moving to an apartment in North Vancouver at the end of September and it has an ah-mazing water view (see below. Yes, that will be our view :)).

I’ll be keeping you updated with the decorating/renovations process as moving day approaches and once we’ve settled in. I’ve already got the before pictures!

And give Pinterest a try – follow me and I’ll follow you. Or if you are already on there let me know your username so I can follow you!

Comments

  1. I’ve heard of pinterest…And I know for a fact that I will be addicted! 🙂 I secretly keep checking it here and there tho 🙂 I’ll be sure to check out your page!

    • Thanks Ari! Yes if you get it set up let me know your username so I can follow your boards – LOVE your blog. I will be setting up a food board soon for veggie inspirations – I like how much stuff you can do on Pinterest, though it’s a great time waster … !!

Trackbacks

  1. […] colour scheme for a beachy, shabby chic white and pale wood decor scheme, inspired by my Pinterest boards (click here to check out my boards and follow me on […]

Let's chat!

