October Blog Love

When I started this blog, a big part of helping me really get it off the ground was the kindness shown to me by fellow bloggers.

I found other blogs purely by chance – I browsed around on Google and found a few that I liked. Then I looked at people who commented on blogs I was reading, and also perused other bloggers’ blogrolls.

From here, I began to put together my own Guiltless Life blogroll that felt really genuine to me. It’s the list that I read through when sitting down with my morning cup of tea.

This way I am able to use my blogroll as a tool myself while hopefully providing links to some great reading material for others browsing the web.

As I got shout-outs from some of my new blogging friends, my traffic climbed and gradually I am beginning to develop a faithful pack of readers who visit on a daily basis.

There are a number of factors that go into growing and maintaining a successful blog, and I’m learning as I go, but I have learned that developing a community within the blog world is definitely one of them. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t read other blogs and get to know other bloggers just because I want to get more traffic. That’s a great bonus that often comes from getting to know other bloggers but the main reasons I read are:

  • I love blogs! That’s why I started blogging in the first place!
  • For blogging inspiration
  • To develop relationships
  • I connect with a lot of things that others write about
  • To get ideas for ways to improve my own life

To try and show my appreciation for this wonderful community that we call the blog world, I will feature the sites listed on my blogroll each month in a ‘Blog Love‘ post. Eventually, I want to grow this into a Link Party so any and all blogs can share their top-rated posts for the month!

  • links to the top 3 posts visited on my blog so far this month
  • links to one post from each blog on my blogroll (and my blogroll is always growing and changing!)

This way you can visit this post at any point when you’re bored and want something to read – and hey, if you make it all the way through this list, good for you! I know you’ll have enjoyed some quality reads.

So without further ado, here’s October’s blog love (and yes, future Blog Love posts won’t be nearly as wordy because I’ll skip all of this explanation!)

MY TOP-RATED POSTS for October (not including giveaway posts, because, obviously!):

BLOGROLL FAVES

  • Sarah, aka Mama Pea from the hilarious and delicious (can a blog be delicious??) blog Peas and Thank You (ahem, Sarah is also the author of the cookbook Peas and Thank You and is working on her second!) sent over her top post this month. As she wrote to me: “Tofu, who knew?!”

Thinking Outside the Lunchbox: Tofu Dippers

Photo copyright to PeasandThankYou.com

  • Angela from Oh She Glows! is an amazing vegan blogger with an online store filled with goodies galore. Her foodie posts are honest, beautiful and tasty and she’s a fellow Canadian blogger! She told me that her top-rated post this month was her Butternut Squash Mac ‘n’ Cheeze…yum!

Butternut Squash Mac ‘n’ Cheeze

Photo copyright to OhSheGlows.com

  • Katie of Chocolate-Covered Katie told me that her Cookie Dough Dip recipe post went viral this month! She’s had such crazy success with this post that there’s a chance you may all have seen it already, but if you have, I’m sure you won’t mind seeing it again, and if you haven’t, feast your eyes on this…(did I mention it’s healthy?!)

Want to eat a BIG bowl of cookie dough?

Photo copyright to ChocolateCoveredKatie.com

  • Chelsey from Clean Eating Chelsey told me that one of her top recipes this month was her pesto mac and cheese, which I know was already pinned on my Pinterest board to make! Vegan and delicious – who would have thought of combining those two sauces? Amazing.

A tale of two sauces

Photo copyright to CleanEatingChelsey.com

  • Katie from Healthy Diva Eats let me have full rein of her blog to choose one of my favourite posts she wrote this past month. I loved her How We Roll date night post because it gives you a snapshot of all the things I love about Katie’s blog – her style, her sushi love!, her philosophy on life, how much she loves her family…so much!

How we { roll } date night

Photo copyright to HealthyDivaEats.com

  • Alex from Spoonful of Sugar Free is hosting her second sugar-free challenge and told me that this was her top post this month. Sign up to go without sugar for 10 days and see how you feel! It’s always good to challenge ourselves!

Welcome to the Second Sugar-Free Challenge Homepage!

Image copyright to SpoonfulofSugarFree.com

  • Jenn from Peas and Crayons (and the creator of the ingenious What I Ate Wednesday link party) sent me a link to her innovative recipe, Pumpkin Basil Cheesecake Spread (um, yum???) that a fellow blogger has already made and raved about! Jenn says it’s extra good on crusty bread or crackers so give it a try that way!

Savory Pumpkin Basil Cheesecake Spread

Photo copyright to PeasandCrayons.com

  • Kate from A Healthy Passion said that her top post this month were her delicious-looking and good-for-you Portobello mushroom and kale burgers. Yum!

Mushroom & Kale Burgers

Photo copyright to AHealthyPassion.com

  • Sala from Veggie Belly cooks the most delicious food and her food photography is incredible (she sometimes writes blog posts with guidelines for aspiring food photographers!). Recently she and her husband moved across the US to Portland and she documented her vegetarian road trip across America – it’s fascinating to see the different types of veggie food she was able to find across the country! Sala said Part 3 of this post series received the most hits for her this month.

A Vegetarian Road Trip Across America. What I’m Seeing, Doing and Eating Part 3

Photo copyright to VeggieBelly.com

  • Missy at Pink Pistachio took her adorable family to the pumpkin patch this month and she says that post got some major attention – no doubt something to do with one adorable pup and an extra adorable little boy!

Punkin Pickin’

Photo copyright to PinkPistachio.com

  • Ari at The Diva Dish said she already got some great responses from the delicious and healthy cookie dough layered brownies she posted last week. All kinds of great ingredients go into these brownies: beans, cashews…things you would never expect, and yet they come out looking (and no doubt tasting) like…well, check it out below! Yum!

Cookie Dough Layered Fudge Brownies

Photo copyright to thediva-dish.com

  • Annie, Chelsea and Holly are three sisters who run Naturally Sweet Recipes, a blog after my own heart as they cook using natural sweeteners only – no more white sugar, yay! They are the ones who introduced me to the wonders of coconut sugar that I went and splurged on at Whole Foods last week. I can’t wait to start cooking with that. Annie let me know that their Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies took the top-rated post prize for October. Sweet goodness!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Photo copyright to NaturallySweetRecipes.blogspot.com

  • Amy from Family Feedbag is a baking, cooking mom extraordinaire with some beautiful food photography skills! She sent me her top-rated post this month and it was no surprise: her fall apple pie. Just look at it!

    Fall apple pie

    Photo copyright to FamilyFeedbag.com

  • Averie from Love Veggies and Yoga had a hit with her vegan, gluten-free Pumpkin Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars, which also fit right in with the fall theme we all love so much: pumpkin, of course!

Pumpkin Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars

Photo copyright to LoveVeggiesandYoga.com

And I picked out a favourite post from the other blogs on my blogroll, Fitnessista and The Budget Babe:

  • Gina at Fitnessista gives you a peppermint patty drink recipe and a killer workout, all in one post: Peppermint Patty
  • Dianna at The Budget Babe had a busy month as she GOT MARRIED! but still found time to recreate this killer Zoe Saldana outfit for us on a budget: Zoe Saldana’s Sequin Jacket and Black Pants

And that’s a wrap for October’s Blog Love!

QUESTION for bloggers:

  • Would you take part in this if this became a link party (where you write a post featuring your top-rated posts for the month and then link it up on my blog)?

Comments

  1. This is SO awesome! I know you told me in the email what you were doing, but now seeing ti al together, it looks fabulous! I am honored to be one of the blog loves! Thank you so much for including me in this! I like the pic and post you picked! I read pretty much all the blogs you mentioned ; ) we have the same blog taste!

    Happy Tuesday! I love this idea!

    xoxo

  2. I love this post! I can very much to relate to it and how blogging has affected my life as well. I have been so inspired by fellow bloggers, and truly feel like it has helped me broaden my interests and make me a better person. I found your blog in the last few weeks from a favorite blog of mine, and now I’m excited to learn about others I may enjoy from you!

    • Thanks so much, I’m really glad you like it! I love that you embrace your Polish heritage, I know so many people from Eastern Europe and it’s a region of the world rich with culture!

  3. This is amazing!! Thank you so much for setting this up, and sharing all these amazing bloggers along with it too!! 🙂

  4. AHHHH DROOL! I Made Angela’s squash recipe!!! Its FANTASTIC! and Kate’s burgers are on my to-make list! and my recipe is aiiiight =) bahaha i’m so so so excited to be featured with these other yummy recipes! we make a good crew if I do say so myself =)

    and i’m totally all about making your savory pie! brilliant!

    • I know those burgers look great and pretty much ALL of Angela’s recipes are on my Pinterest ready to be made lol!

      I can’t wait to keep this going – I think I’ll do the next two posts and maybe in the New Year try to turn it into a link party…so I may be sending you an email around that time begging for some advice from the link party queen? 🙂

  5. Thanks for including me! I cant wait to check all of these posts out!

  6. Love it, Anna! Thanks for including my pie and for introducing me to some great blogs!

  7. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Thanks so much for including me, Anna! Looks like you picked a ton of great bloggers and recipes (some new to me! Can’t wait to check them out! )

    • Yay for opening up the party! The more bloggers the better hehe 🙂 Thanks for taking part Alex! Hope the Sugar-Free Challenge goes well, it’s such a worthwhile diet shift to make!

  8. What an awesome roundup of so many great bloggers, food, and fun people. Thanks for taking the time to compile this and for including me, Anna. 🙂

    • Yay so glad you liked it Averie, I can’t wait to keep this up as a regular thing! So great seeing how creative we all are! 🙂

  9. Awww, thanks so much for including me :).

    I think I wanted to click on every single link! Off to check some of them out now…

  10. nutritious & simple & yummy! these are the kind of recipes I enJOY making for our family!

  11. Hi Anna – as a new blogger, vegetarian, and someone who is completely food obsessed, this was exactly what I needed today! Cant wait to read all these blogs.
    So pleased to have found you.

    • I’m so pleased you found me! I can’t wait to check out your blog – always great to have veggie friends! Thanks so much for reading :).

  12. Awww, Miss Anna how I adore you so! You’re such a sweet girl you thinks of others. Such an honor to be included in your blog love! Thank you, doll! xo

Trackbacks

  1. […] – Anna from Guiltless Life is doing a blog love feature every month, its awesome! Love her blog and her! […]

  2. […] One of the things I love the most about blogging is the blog community. I’ve shared that before, especially in posts like the monthly feature I began in October, Blog Love. […]

  3. […] Ate Wednesday (thanks to Jenn for hosting!), I thought I would combine it with my monthly feature, Blog Love, in which I link up some of the recipes that have tempted me from my blogroll this […]

  4. […] here, here and here for previous Blog Love […]

Let's chat!

