WIAW: The iPhone Edition

So I got an iPhone this weekend.

I don’t regret anything about the switch over from Blackberry to iPhone. The camera alone is fantastic. To prove it, and because I’m lazy :), all the photos for today’s post were taken on my brand-new iPhone 4S – which, btw, has the same 8megapixel stat as my old Olympus SLR (which I am also replacing, very soon. Yay!)

One question about iPhones though – can someone, anyone help me?

My Blackberry received emails INSTANTLY. Like, as soon as one came in it beeped loudly and I checked and it was brilliant. My iPhone is lacking in that department.

So far, the choices are to either check it manually – ie click into my Mail every 30 seconds (as if) – or for it to check every 15 minutes, which seems kind of pathetic to me. I must be missing something. Can anyone help?

I would owe you big time! And now, let’s begin this special iPhone edition of What I Ate Wednesday, hosted by the delightful Jenn at Peas and Crayons.

BREAKFAST

As this is always about Tuesday rather than Wednesday, here is what happened to kick off my Tuesday:

In my unfamiliarity with my iPhone, I turned my alarm off rather than on. I woke up at 8:15 to my mom opening my door and wondering why I wasn’t even out of bed yet. I should mention I start work at 8:30.

Luckily for me my office is a maximum 10-minute drive away. I have never gotten ready so fast in my life. I cleaned my teeth, dressed, grabbed my stuff together, put in my contacts…all in 4 minutes. I still don’t know how I managed that.

I didn’t manage to squeeze in breakfast – so once I had been at work for long enough for my stomach to seriously start growling, I ran over to Starbucks and got what I call my ‘airport breakfast’ – ie what I eat when travelling on really early-morning flights. It’s the only non-sugary minimally-processed item I can ever find to eat in an airport:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

The trick? Get them to make it with steamed milk – I got soy milk added to mine (because Starbucks still doesn’t carry almond milk..!!!). Makes the oats thick and creamy. I topped it with the complimentary packets of mixed nuts and dried fruit – leaving out, of course, the brown sugar – ick.

SNACK

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

The best snack ever at this time of year – a delicious and sweet mandarin!

LUNCH:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

This was the first time I’ve had gluten in a while, due to my experiment. I didn’t notice any immediate after-effects! I still wouldn’t usually go in for this much bread but I was in a time crunch, due to the rush to get out of the house in the morning, and so I paid a visit to Subway and got a veggie sandwich on whole grain.

DESSERT/SNACK:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

One of Meg’s delicious cookies thanks to the Cookie Swap!

DINNER:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

I whipped myself up another stirfry, having leftover ingredients from when I made it last week.

DESSERT:

An apple and … one of THESE beauties:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Have no fear, the recipe will soon be here! (On Friday…ssh!)

Moral of today’s story: Don’t sleep in!

QUESTION:

  • People, please, read that intro about my iPhone and help me! I need serious techie advice!
  • And I can’t wait to browse around the WIAW link party at all of your delicious eats!
Comments

  1. Re: emails on iPhone. Read the note under fetch. If push notifications is on, then it reverts to the time scenario. Otherwise, as long as push is on, you will automatically get your emails when they come through

  2. Yay for an iPhone! I bought mine a few months ago and am still trying to figure things out haha

  3. I have so much fun taking pictures with my iphone! You have to get instagram!! Even better!

  4. Unfortunately, I don’t have an iPhone anymore or I would help you! I switched back to my Blackberry a few months ago. (I guess I’m more of a Blackberry gal at heart.)
    Your dinner looks so delicious! I love adding cashews to my stirfry. The flavor and texture they add is amazing. 🙂

    • Thanks Emily! Ooh I hope I resist the urge to switch back to BB! I love everything about the iPhone except for this darn email issue. Even on Push it feels like the emails come in slower :(. Ah well!

  5. I also recently made the switch from blackberry to Iphone. Best decision ever. If you want to get your emails instantly, you can enable “push notifications” under the settings tab.

    Great blog 🙂

  6. I love my iPhone!! I don’t miss anything about my BlackBerry, except the email thing. I noticed everyone’s suggestions above, but that hasn’t worked for me 😐 I’m constantly checking my email. Hope it works for you!

    • Thanks Char – just switching to Push didn’t fix things for me either and it’s because I’m a Gmail user – apparently Push doesn’t work for Gmail. But my sister, the genius researcher that she is, found this video showing how to trick your iPhone into thinking your email ISN’T a Gmail. It’s worked for me so far! Check it out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MtD42lBsq5E

  7. I love the iphone! Although make sure to frequently back it up! Just updated mine and lost all my data… 😦 Thanks for sharing that mail link! I’ll have to check it out. And I will definitely NOT be sleeping in on Friday. 🙂 Looks yummy.

  8. yaay congrats on the iphone, it is really lifechanging! You need to download the free Instagram app, it will make you want to take even more photos! it’s so fun.

  9. The stirfry looks delicious! I love your idea of adding nuts

Trackbacks

  1. […] WIAW: The iPhone Edition – it could have been all of the iPhone users flocking to this post, or it could have been the […]

  2. […] go for Starbucks’ oatmeal and ask the barista to make them with soy milk (one of these days Starbucks will get almond milk!). […]

Let's chat!

