Happy New Year!

How did you all see in the New Year?

New Year’s Eve is one of those nights that I always enjoy for its sentiment but don’t always feel the need to actually go out and celebrate. In general I dislike holidays that ‘force’ you into celebrating, like Halloween or New Year’s Eve – if I want to go out, I’ll go out, and not on a night when everything is overpriced and everywhere is crowded full of people that might not be who I want to party with!

So I was all set for spending New Year’s in, but then we got an invitation from some friends to attend a Cirque du Soleil-themed gala dinner. Celebrating with people we like and in an environment that’s glamorous and fun and full of good food and music and dancing – it was perfect!

Here are some photos from the night (and a couple of videos too – the circus performers were amazing!).  A lot of them are blurry, partly because we’re still getting used to the iPhone camera and partly because there were a few drinks imbibed ;).

So Happy New Year to everyone! I’ll be back tomorrow with a post on goals for this year, and my vision board for 2012 :).

What did you do on New Year’s Eve?

The New Year’s outfit:

An amazing juggler (see below for a video of her performance that I posted on my YouTube account):

Awesome decor – check out those mask centrepieces!

The contortionist was mind-blowing – two videos below (the second one is craziest!) – I think it would take a LOT of yoga for me to be able to do any of this!:

I was pretty excited about the chocolate fountains:

Notice anything funny about this picture? Perhaps the abnormally tall person on STILTS in the background??

I think I win the “craziest expression of the night” award while that Cirque du Soleil statue behind me wins “creepiest expression of the night” – we’re a great pair :).

And the Conga line got everyone dancing, so the night of course ended well 😉

Comments

  1. What a fun New Years! Was it at a hotel downtown?

    • Yes! It’s a hotel/club in Coal Harbour and my friends are members so we were lucky enough to be invited. It was such a great time! Happy New Year x!

  2. Happy New Year!!

    How fun that party would of been, oh and the chocolate fountain, I would of been by it all night! I want one of those one day!

    Have a great day! You looked beautiful btw! ❤

  3. I’m pretty sure I would have attempted to steal that chocolate fountain haha
    You look gorgeous Anna, so glad you had a good time!

    • Aw thanks Tessa! It’s so funny – they brought those chocolate fountains out really sneakily because people barely noticed they were there – then all of a sudden we spotted them and everyone just flocked there! Haha 🙂

  4. Looks like you had a fun NYE! 🙂 I subscribed to your You Tube Channel! 🙂

    Happy 2012!

    • Aw thanks Shannon! I just had to set one up so I could upload some videos but never thought about subscribers and all that malarkey – so proud to have you as my first! 🙂

  5. You look gorgeous! The event also look gorgeous! Happy New Year! xx

  6. That looks like fun! I’m typically like you – if I want to go out, I’d rather do it on a night where I don’t have to pay three times the amount it would have cost to go out for a special occasion!

Let's chat!

