My Mailman Was Very Nice to Me…

Last Thursday, my mailman was very nice to me. I was expecting my new camera (that’s the big box on the bottom) but it was still so exciting to get it! And the top package was an unexpected surprise – proving good things come in big AND small packages :).

Copyright to Anna Wootton

Larabar sent over their new flavour – Cappuccino. You know I love me some Larabars, and this new flavour was fantastic! For all you coffee fanatics out there, this is REALLY coffee-flavoured. You will definitely get your hit of caffeine! And LARABAR is using fair trade coffee, so it truly is guiltless!

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

See those black dots? Coffee granules – you betcha!

The big parcel is my new Nikon D5100 with a nice new macro lens – my Boxing Day treat to myself! As fun as this iPhone camera lark is, I cannot WAIT to use a proper dSLR again! I played with it a bit over the weekend but I have also been devouring the gift my real Santa (not mailman Santa!) gave to me in my stocking this year:

Copyright to Amazon.com

I really can’t say enough good things about Dujardin’s writing style in this book. Although she’s an uber-talented food photographer and stylist – and there are tons of beautiful examples and directions on how to create your own food shots – the tips and tricks she offers in this book are useful no matter what style of photography you’re into, and they’re easy enough for even the most amateur photographer to understand. I’m thoroughly enjoying this book!

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

It’s like Christmas all over again… 🙂

Now I feel tons of pressure to have some amazing photos up on this blog because I have the camera and the directions on how to do it! Eeks!

And for those of you wondering, as I did tweet about it a bit last week, I started the Wild Rose Detox cleanse last Friday. It’s a 12-day-long cleanse that focuses on alkalizing the body by reducing and restricting the number of acidic foods you consume. That is accompanied by some herbal blends that are quite potent!

After I’m done this cleanse I’ll be going straight into a 3-week detox program by Thorne called Mediclear that focuses more on reducing your exposure to common allergenic food, so it’s an elimination diet, steering clear of dairy, gluten, soy, corn, and other irritants.

I will be posting about both of these cleanses in more detail – the Wild Rose post is coming this week – plus some recipes I’m using to keep me going! My naturopath has also given me a lot of directions regarding lifestyle changes to make the cleanses more effective, including meditation/relaxation time, saunas, exercise and more – so I’ll be blogging about the whole experience :). So check back!

QUESTIONS:

  • Have you ever done either of these cleanses? Or known anyone who has?
  • Have you ever done ANY cleanse? If so, which one and how did you find it?
  • What was the highlight of your weekend?
Comments

  1. Mmm the new Lara bar flavor sounds great! I will have to be on the lookout for that at my next health food store run
    And yay for a new camera! I can’t wait to see the gorgeous pics you bust out 😀

    • Yes, it’s great if you like coffee – I don’t mind coffee so for me it was okay but my mom – a coffee addict – was SWOONING! Thanks Tessa xx

  2. i go the new laras in the mail as well. So yummy. Im really curious about the first cleanse your doing. Cant wait to hear about it.

    • Day 4 of the cleanse today and I am feeling great! Was really craving some dark chocolate yesterday but this morning is better. I’ll be blogging about it this week! xx

  3. how have i still not tried a larabar?

  4. Yay for packages! I got those larabars as well need to post about them! They are good! I had one the other day!

    I am really wanting that book, I might get it, I need some photography help for sure!

    Oh and the cleanse, sounds so interesting, can’t wait to hear more!

    xoxo

    • Aren’t packages the best? Nothing like getting a lovely surprise in the mailbox :). The book is FAB get it if you have a dSLR and want to learn your way around it for sure! x

  5. congrats on the camera!! dslr photography is tough, but so rewarding! I’ve had mine since March and I’m still learning so much every day. be sure to share any tips you learn along the way!! i’ll need to check that book out, sounds good!

    • Thank you! I know, I used to be a photojournalist and learned tricks that really helped with that but that is an entirely different style of photography to food photography! So it’s totally relearning – plus I’ve never had a Nikon dSLR before, only an Olympus or Canon, so this is also a bit of relearning!

      • wow then you really must do a post on photography tips in general! i’m sure you have some good insight!

      • Aw that’s really sweet but honestly, I don’t think it would help too much – photojournalism is always done ‘on location’, just shooting things you see and have to report on, so there is no styling or – most importantly for blog photography – lighting!!! to worry about. So those are things that I am just a basic beginner on and am learning from scratch! Styled and set up shoots are just so new to me. I could maybe give some advice on framing and camera settings as that’s all stuff I learned in journalism but I think most bloggers I read have a better grip on that than me also! haha

  6. I’ve done the Wild Rose, and blogged about it a while back. Hubby and I both liked it!

    Mmm, the new Lara Bar looks delish!!

    • If you like coffee, it’s fab!

      Thanks for letting me know you’d done the cleanse Kristine! I headed over to your blog straight away haha. Did you like it?

  7. Wow! It does probably still feel like Christmas! Great packages! Congrats on the new camera! I am soo excited to hear about your cleanse, I’m going to try and start one here shortly. Can’t wait to hear more!

    • For sure I will be blogging tomorrow about it – I really recommend this Wild Rose cleanse because it’s so short (12 days) that honestly anyone can do it. It’s tough because there are no sweets – not even natural ones – but in a way that’s best because it also trains our tastebuds to find fruit and healthier items really sweet, so hopefully once it’s done you don’t need so many baked goods etc.! Plus it’s available at Whole Foods for just $30 (Canadian), which is pretty awesome for a cleanse :).

  8. Omg, I want to try the cappuccino Larabars! That’s two of my favourite things! (cappuccinos, Larabars!)

    Yaaayy for your camera arriving!! I’m so excited to see your new photos 🙂 And I lovelovelove that book!! I’m about halfway through it, and agree she is a GREAT writer! I love how the book is written for everyone. She has a supportive and helpful tone in her book and I just love it 🙂

  9. I did do sort of an old fashioned cleanse. It was more or less a one time thing to clean out your colon. Boy did it work! It was just a large jug of warm water with a lot of sea salt added. Admittedly you would have to be in good shape to begin with with no underlying health problems. It cleaned me out quickly. After getting something nutritious to eat the next morning I felt fantastic.

  10. What fun things you got! Love Larabars and that plate to pixel book I’ve been seeing all over the blog world. That will be next on my list:)

  11. Yum! I need to get my hands on that new flavor!!

  12. Love your blog!

  13. Love your blog!

  14. ohhh i just got that book too! 🙂 have you started reading it yet?

    • Yes – I’m on chapter 2 as I’m taking it pretty slow so I can learn it all as I go! I’m really looking forward to getting into food styling, right now she’s still talking about camera settings but I feel like I need more help with the styling!

Let's chat!

