Golden Globes 2012 Fashion

Sunday night was the Golden Globes 2012 – the first big awards show of the season – and my favourite part, of course, is the red carpet fashion.

There just really are no opportunities in the average girl’s life to wear a floor-length gown so we have to live vicariously through the celebs, right?

The ceremony itself was pretty interesting though. I live Tweeted throughout on my Twitter.

Some of my comments:

I’m pretty cynical about Hollywood but you would be too if you read Lainey Gossip (just the smartest, most interesting entertainment blog out there!).

Anyway, back to the fashion:

My favourite picks of the night:

Kate Winslet – always classy – in Jenny Packham.

Claire Danes in J. Mendel.

She and Kate definitely won the best “black and white ensemble” awards of the night.

Salma Hayek in Gucci. Look at that sparkle! And so figure flattering too.

Helen Mirren in Badgley Mischka.

Helen ALWAYS wins in my book. This dress was so age-appropriate while being totally stunning and flattering. I would wear it given half the chance!

Angelina Jolie in Atelier Versace.

I’m not sure this dress would have worked on most people but on her it was a stunner!

Jessica Chastain in Givenchy.

Emma Stone in Lanvin.

I love how she always chooses a shape or a colour that is a little bit unconventional. Especially with her pale skin and red hair her outfits always pop.

And…my ABSOLUTE favourite:

Emily Blunt in Elie Saab.

I couldn’t find any pics of her on the red carpet, so maybe she skipped it – she presented the clip showcasing Bridesmaids as a nominee for Best Picture. That colour just popped on her and there was the right amount of sparkle too!

My least favourites:

*Note: I don’t like to rag on women and let’s face it, all these stars are stunning and would look good in a trash bag, so these are just my all-in-fun opinions of dresses I wouldn’t personally have worn!

Sarah Michelle Gellar in Monique Lhullier and Piper Perabo in Theyskens Theory.

I love SMG and am really enjoying her show Ringer, but these dresses were – as my tweet said – just too poofy for my liking.

Also, apart from Coyote Ugly years and years ago I can’t think of anything Piper Perabo has been in so I was curious as to why she was there. Does anyone know?

Here’s a full view of SMG’s dress as Piper’s is pretty much eclipsing it in the above photo:

Kelly Osbourne in Zac Posen.

Her sleeves looked like she was wearing inflatable armbands for learning to swim. I’m also not sure why her hair is grey??

Heidi Klum in Calvin Klein.

I usually love Heidi and Calvin Klein’s sleek lines and one-tone dresses but this was just too beige and it didn’t cling in the right places.

Lea Michele in Marchesa.

This was just too cheap looking – from the brassy colour to the sexy cutouts – it was a bit much for a red carpet, I thought. Maybe I’m just a prude ;).

QUESTIONS:

  • What was your favourite gown?
  • What was your least favourite?
  • Do you watch the awards shows?
Comments

  1. I love Angelina Jolie, she is SO beautiful, she can wear anything and look amazing! Always fun to see all the pretty dresses!

    Happy Tuesday! ❤

  2. I loved Salma’s dress! Other favorites for me were: Jessica Alba, Reese witherspoon, and I loved Heidi Klum’s dress! I think she looks fab, the nude color was a common reoccurance and that pop of color is just perfect! I agree with your other picks tho. I didn’t like the poofiness or Kelly Osbourne, doubtful, but hope they rip on her on her Fashion Police show 😉

    • Salma’s dress was amazing…Jessica Alba also looked great. I need to know how to do Reese Witherspoon’s hair, it was gorgeous!

  3. I just finished watching the awards last night…had them PVR’d. I LOVED Jessica Alba’s dress (and skin, she was just glowing!) and Reese Witherspoon’s dress. Fabulous! Excited for the Oscars in Feb. My girlfriend always throws an “Oscar Party Girls Night”

    • Yes Jessica Alba looked great! Reese Witherspoon had a bit of a Jessica Rabbit thing going on it was a good look for her. An Oscar Party sounds so fun! Most of my girlfriends aren’t really into awards shows but I’ll see if I can drum up some interest this year haha.

  4. I completely agree with all of your picks! I love Kate Winslet’s dress!

  5. Anna I was at work all day yesterday while you were live tweeting, and I really enjoyed following you, and then coming home last night and watching for myself!

  6. This too is my favorite part of award time season…the red carpet is what I look forward to, more so than who wins what! ha
    Piper Perabo was definitely my least favorite, I’m not sure what she was hiding under there, it was a bit much!
    My favorite look was Angelina Jolie hands down, and you are right that dress wouldn’t work for everyone, but of course looks amazing on her! But being as I unfortunately do not have her figure to pull that off, I would have loved to be seen in Claire Danes dress. The back on that was my favorite!!!

  7. pinkuniquediva says:

    Hi,

    Piper Perabo is the lead character in a 3 or 4 season show called Covert Affairs, it’s still running.

    • Anna @ The Guiltless Life says:

      Aha, thank you for sharing! I had no idea but figured she must be on something to not only go to the Globes but to also be able to present!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Blunt had my favourite dress from the Golden Globes, but I just thought – as stunning as this green colour is on her – that the shape and […]

  2. […] colour of this Lanvin dress on Nicole Kidman. It reminded me of the Lanvin dress Emma Stone wore to the Golden Globes, in the sense that Lanvin do different shades of red/purple really well. They come up with unique […]

Let's chat!

