SAG Awards 2012 Fashion

Source

I enjoyed doing my Golden Globes fashion post and a lot of you seemed to enjoy chiming in, so I thought I may as well do it for the Screen Actors Guild awards too!

I’m a bit late, as they were last Sunday, but better late than never, right?

Let’s get to it! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts and opinions too, so make sure you share!

My favourite picks of the night:

Naya Rivera wore Naeem Kahn. There was a lot of nude/pale colours on the carpet which often wash people out but she has the skin tone to pull this one off, and I just love the sleek shape and sparkle of the dress.

The Glee girls are getting some love! Dianna Agron looked great in Carolina Herrera. It wasn’t the most exciting dress but it’s one I would absolutely wear. The colour is beautiful and the gathering and ruffle are so figure flattering!

I love the simplicity of Jessica Chastain‘s Calvin Klein and the blue colour absolutely works with her hair colour and complexion!

I have a major girlcrush on Kristen Wiig (she’s SO funny) so that may have influenced this because I don’t think the colour is the most flattering in the world. But I love her choker and how she always chooses understated dresses, so I love her in this Balenciaga dress.

I was on the fence about but ultimately think it’s a hit:

Kaley Cuoco in Romona Keveza. At first glance I thought it was a bit cotton candy-ish but I loved her hair and thought she pulled the colour off really well.

And…my ABSOLUTE favourite:

I chose this one completely instinctively, because Viola Davis was the only actress that came onscreen at the SAG Awards Red Carpet coverage where I went “Wow”. She looked amazing in this Marchesa dress. The fit and is awesome, the colour is perfect for her skin tone and the gold detail on the dress is gorgeous. Love it!

My least favourites:

I’m sorry, but Michelle Williams in Valentino was a fail for me this time. I didn’t like the cut of her dress or the fact that her shoes were identical in colour to the dress. I also feel that for a red dress to really stand out it has to be something special. Otherwise you kind of blend in with the red carpet!

Emily Blunt had my favourite dress from the Golden Globes, but I just thought – as stunning as this green colour is on her – that the shape and fit of this Oscar de la Renta dress did nothing for her :(.

I was on the fence about but ultimately think it’s a miss:

I usually love Jenny Packham‘s dresses but this wet-look gown looked almost like leather. Because Angelina Jolie has such strong features I always think she looks better in feminine colours, so this just wasn’t doing it for me. I was on the fence about it but I think I’ve decided it’s a miss.

My VERY least favourite:

Rose Byrne in Elie Saab. I know it’s probably because I’m not ‘fashion forward’ enough but I couldn’t get behind this. I’m all for a pantsuit but this wasn’t flattering in colour or shape – and I don’t like her new haircut either, she looks like Anna Wintour!

QUESTIONS:

  • What were your favourite dresses from the SAG Awards 2012?
  • Are you looking forward to the Oscars?
Comments

  1. Ugh I’m so bummed I missed these! I love Dianna Agron’s dress though, and I definitely agree with you on Angelina’s choice!! Viola Davis….wow she looks stunning! I loved her in The Help.

  2. I actually did not watch the SAG awards, but now I can see all the fashion in this post ; ) Thank You!

    I love the Glee girls pink dress! SO pretty!

    Have to agree Angelina’s dress not so great.

    Happy Thursday love! ❤

    • It was purely by chance that I caught the Red Carpet segment. I don’t know if the awards were shown…but I love watching the red carpet and cringing at the awkward celebrity interviews. Yikes. They were particularly bad on this one, don’t know what was wrong with Giuliana!

  3. I love you did a post on this! I agree about Emily blunts dress- the color is phenomenal, but the style wasn’t the best for her. Viola Davis did look amazing in that gown- her coloring looked great! I just love looking at all the dresses!

  4. I totally agree with all your picks! I didn’t watch the SAG awards. Looking forward to the Oscars soon!

  5. I didn’t watch…eekkk! From all the pics I’ve seen lately I agree with your loves too!! The dresses are all so gorgeous and I would love to walk around in one for a day 😉

    xxoo

    • Right? We never get the chance to wear dresses like this in real life! Haha I’ve always said when I’m older and married and have our own place I’m going to throw a New Year’s Eve party every year for friends and we’ll have a super fancy dress code lol.

  6. Angelinas dress is horrible! It looks like fake leather and it drapes weird on her bony figure. Total miss i think! I agree with your favorites, Viola Davis looks beautiful!

  7. I was a little bummed overall with the SAG awards. The bar was set high with the Golden Globes. There weren’t too many dresses I liked for SAG. I hope the Oscars make up for it 🙂

    • Yes I wasn’t as impressed with the dresses – like I said with my favourites, they were all quite ‘regular’ simple dresses that I wouldn’t mind wearing at all, but nothing was really daring. I think (I hope!) they’re saving them for the Oscars!

  8. Viola Davis was my all time favorite as well! Not only is the dress a WOW, but she in general just looks gorgeous! Her skin, her hair, the bracelet, she just has this glow and looked amazing!
    I think there is a time and a place for a pant suit…for some…but I was just not a fan of Rose Byrne’s outfit that night. She herself did not look as she was enjoying it.. ha
    Love posts like this! I’m glad it’s award season and am looking forward to more! 🙂

Let's chat!

