My Favourite YouTube Fitness Vids

One great way to make sure you squeeze in some kinda workout even when you don’t feel like leaving the house – or can’t – is to check out YouTube.

*Note: the image above is from the YouTube Fitness app, available in the App Store (click here). I have not downloaded it though, so can’t attest to how good it is. Anyone out there have it and want to share their opinion?

Of course,  YouTube contains millions and millions (about 554 million, apparently) of videos so wading through them all can seem a bit daunting.

I’m here to help! I thought I’d share with you some of my favourite YouTube fitness videos for any workout goal or mood that you are in.

I’m sure most of these will look familiar to any avid fitness blogger or reader: the Tone It Up girls and Zuzana (formerly of Bodyrock) are well-known by fitness lovers. So let’s make the most of it and get working!

Let’s tackle Zuzana first – we know she’ll kick our butts!

She does some great workouts that are really fast but SUPER intense. Holy moley. I can only bring myself to face her twice a week at most lol! But that’s probably all you need if you’re mixing it up with other workouts. This one is one of my fave kick-butt workouts:

  • 10 reps of dive bombers
  • 5 reps burpees
  • 20 reps each side of squat leg lifts
  • 5 reps burpees
  • 10 reps each side of side plank lifts
  • 5 reps burpees
  • 10 reps each side of pistol squats (one-legged squats)
  • 5 reps burpees

Repeat for a total of 3 rounds and time yourself – try to beat your time each time! Here’s the video:

Next, another favourite Zuzana workout – an AMRAP. Just 10 minutes, do as many sets of the following as you can:

  • 10 reps pistol squats (one-legged squats)
  • 20 reps low jacks
  • 10 reps dynamite burpees
  • 20 reps low jacks

Killer! Here’s the vid:

And my favourite – Tabata! – in a relatively new video Zuzana just posted last week:

Complete one Tabata round (4 minutes) of each:

  • alternate leg balance burn
  • bunny hop
  • weighted leg raise
  • broad jump death burpee (lovely name eh?)

Here ya go:

Onto some fun dance-style workouts.

In addition to my Zumba classes, if I’m doing some HIIT circuits at home, I like to warm up and cool down with some fun cardio, and quick Zumba videos are the best way to do that! Here are some of my favourites:

  • Salsa Zumba:
  • Fun Zumba to Jennifer Lopez’s “Let’s Get Loud”:
  • And a really fun, booty-shaking reggaeton routine to Beenie Man’s “Gimme Gimme Gimme”:

The Tone It Up girls post great workouts on YouTube.

They’re quick, usually can be done anywhere with little equipment, and most of them you can follow along with the video. If nothing else, watching these ladies in their bikinis should motivate you haha.

Two of my favourites:

  • Love handles, abs and booty workout:
  • Upper body circuit – you’ll need dumbbells for this one. But the great thing is you can amp up the difficulty by just increasing your weight as you get stronger!

QUESTION:

  • These are my favourite ways to use YouTube to work out, but I’m always looking for more. I’ve heard great things about Bodyrock and I sometimes use yoga vids on YouTube too, but I have a ton of yoga DVDs and a yoga membership so I don’t tend to use YouTube for that as much. Any other suggestions to throw my way? Please share!
Comments

  1. ittybitsofbalance says:

    Yey Zuzana! Bodyrock is just not the same without her, but thankfully she’s over at ZWOW now. I will admit that I do stretch faaaar back into the bodyrock archives from time to time to find some of her older videos.

  2. I’ve never really used youtube vids for exercise but will definitely be checking these out!

  3. This is awesome, thanks for sharing! I’ve never used youtube for at home workouts. I can’t wait to try these out!!

  4. Interesting… I’ve never thought of using YouTube to do a workout… This will be great for a quick workout during lunch. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Great!!! Thanks for posting this! Sometimes when I want to find a good video on youtube I end up getting wayyyyy too sidetracked, but I’m going to save this so I’ll have videos next time for sure!!

  6. These are awesome! A whole collection right here! I love the Tone It Up girls! Can’t wait to try some others you have on here! I had no idea they had zumba on you tube! That’s great!!!

  7. I love this post! I already do a lot of Zuzana’s workouts, but I definitely want to try some of the Zumba videos! 🙂

  8. I’m so glad you did this post! I’m always looking for good workout videos on youtube and I always end out giving up because there are too many. Thanks for doing the work for me : )

    I totally have a girl crush on Karena and Katrina

  9. Great choices thanks for this post! Also check out Blogilates and Bexlife.com!

  10. I love Zuzana and Bodyrock! I think the new Bodyrock is fine without her too. I think people got too caught up in the drama and started taking sides but I think Zuzana and Lisa are both great. I think Lisa’s videos get me a little more pumped up though because of her up beat personality.

    • I’m not sure about all of the Zuzana vs Bodyrock; I haven’t really been into Bodyrock long enough to know the difference, but I just go with whatever video I find that inspires me! I will check out some of Lisa’s too on your recommendation :).

  11. I’m a nurse and I work 12 hour shifts three times per week. I work out on all my days off, and sometimes get one in after work (if I don’t work the next day) but I always feel like I’m slacking when I don’t work out for three days at a time because I’m working! I started out using OnDemand videos and DVD’s and never really thought about using UTUBE. I’m working today and I think that I may try one of these Zuzana videos tonight (Even though I work tomorrow)! I love the intensity. I loooooooove yoga and weight lifting, but I get bored easily, and I am always looking for new workout routines. Thanks for the tips!

    • I can’t even imagine how tough it must be with shift work and nursing! Good for you for really sticking to your workouts despite no doubt feeling exhausted sometimes! Zuzana’s are great for getting the most workout in the shortest amount of time but I do find them a little kick-butt for some of my low-energy days! Then I just like to dance it out with some Zumba 🙂

Let's chat!

