May Goals

For April, I had set out to:

  • Get more creative
  • Get back into my routine
  • Write
  • Get out more

It was tough to achieve these this month because my eye surgery happened. I had set a goal in March to be more relaxed about my eye surgery as my optician had finally referred me to the surgeon’s office in March. But nothing seemed to have happened about the surgery by the time April started so I figured it would take longer than I thought.

Well, apparently not, because once April began I got a call from the surgeon and then it all just sped up from there. so in the end, I spent 2 1/2 weeks of April in outdated glasses, meaning I couldn’t drive anywhere (they were far too weak) and didn’t feel much like socializing. Then I had my surgery on the 26th and was left to recuperate. So the last three goals on April’s list were a bit tough to accomplish.

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

On the plus side? I completed the April Photo-a-Day Challenge, and that on its own is enough to justify feeling that I achieved my first goal laid out in April’s post: get more creative. Woo-hoo for small achievements! Haha.

So here are my goals for May:

  • Eat more vegetables – specifically eat a salad a day (this is a personal challenge! I am photographing them also, and will post the photos in next month’s goal round-up. NOTE: I only decided on this goal on May 7th, so there will be one missing week – sorry). Yes, that is May 7th’s salad above. See? I promised proof!

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

  • Throw an awesome baby shower for my sister – did that ;). Round-up coming tomorrow!
  • Get back into yoga – I have had 1-2 months off, as I was trying out other workouts and was not allowed to work out for 10 days or so around my surgery.

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

QUESTION:

  • Are any of these goals yours as well? I’d love to hear!
  • I challenge you to accept the salad a day challenge as well! A great way to get a whole wack of veggie servings in each day 🙂
Comments

  1. i seriously cannot wait to see all of your salad pictures! such a fantastic goal!

  2. You are such a fab role model! Brave, gorgeous and generous in spirit! There’s two things I need to know. your real response ot the eye surgery. Would you still recommend it? And, need the details of that baby shower!! xoxo

    • Aw AP you are too nice to me! I would definitely still recommend it! 1-2 days of discomfort are worth being able to see! And most people can have LASIK which doesn’t even include the days of discomfort. As for the baby shower – stay tuned! Full round-up tomorrow 🙂

  3. Sam @ Fit for my Fork says:

    I tried having a salad a day last week and still managed to fail (partially due to poor planning). But I will take you up on the challenge perhaps later in May – I am off to Greece on Sunday and daily salads are probably note guaranteed 😉

    I hope you had a great time with your sister – can’t wait to hear about the baby shower! I heard from my mom that they got a bit of snow this morning so good thing you got out of there before that happened 😀

    • Haha I didn’t! The Saturday it was -4 degrees and snowing like crazy. Last Sunday was the shower and it was sunny and about 17 C. Completely crazy weather!

      What about Greek salads? They’re sooooo good, right? And they totally count! 🙂 Have fun on your trip!

      • Sam @ Fit for my Fork says:

        Calgary is a bit nuts sometimes – I do remember the time it snowed in August. Apparently it’ll be 21 on Saturday, and yet snow today! Absolutely ridiculous!

        Oh yes, I did forget about Greek salads… thank you, I’m really looking forward to it! 🙂

  4. What awesome challenges and goals. I’ve found the specific aspect of goals to be particuallary imporant for me! It’s easier to stay on track when you know exactly what you’re working for. Congrats to your sister!! That is so fun and glad the shower turned out awesome!
    I will most definitely take on the challenge of eating a salad every day! Starting today! Thanks for the motivation!

  5. I def love the salad a day challenge!!! I will try my best seeing as we’re getting into colder months…it may be soup or salad challenge for me haha 🙂

  6. Some great goals! I love how realistic they are, too. If they’re not achievable they’ll never get done!

  7. ittybitsofbalance says:

    Being prepared with my meals is something that I’ve found to be CRUCIAL lately! If I don’t plan ahead, I usually find myself in a crunch and end up settling and eating something that I’m not 100% crazy about 😦

  8. I’ve been trying to be prepared with my meals. And pretty much every week I start out on a good foot: I plan them, I shop for them, and I make….a few of them. Of course, then they’ll roll over to the next week, but I get a few points for effort, right?

Trackbacks

  1. […] to my personal challenge for May of eating a salad a day, fruits and veggies are a-plenty in my diet right now. I am loving the way I’m feeling! I […]

  2. […] as always, let’s review how we did in May, shall […]

Let's chat!

