WIAW – May days

It’s my first What I Ate Wednesday of May (thanks to Jenn for hosting). So it’s fitting that my food was all very spring-like and summery feeling. You know what I mean.

Thanks to my personal challenge for May of eating a salad a day, fruits and veggies are a-plenty in my diet right now. I am loving the way I’m feeling! I noticed that before my eye surgery I was craving a lot of comfort food. I think it was just the stress of worrying about the surgery manifesting itself through my cravings and diet. I’m sure glad to be past that now and back into a fresh and healthy greens-filled day of eats!

Breakfast:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

A Greek yogurt and strawberry parfait. I just mixed a drop or two of honey into a serving of nonfat Greek yogurt and layered it with sliced strawberries (image is old, courtesy of my Instagram, but they always look the same when I make ’em, I promise!)

Breakfast part 2:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Lemon poppyseed protein muffin and a gigantic mug of tea.

For some reason I just wasn’t super hungry on waking, so I just had my yogurt parfait. But then by about 10am my stomach was growling again, so out came my brekkie part 2 :).

Lunch:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

A huge salad beast. This one was topped with roasted veg and caramelized tofu strips, a la Kate’s recipe. Don’t forget, I’ll be posting a round-up of all my salad varieties at the end of the month – hopefully I stick to my challenge! It’s been great so far :).

Afternoon snack:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

A fabulous green protein smoothie. My favourite combo: vanilla protein powder, a cup of spinach, a teaspoon or two of peanut butter, half a frozen banana and a cup of almond milk. Lovely!

Dinner:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Leftover butternut squash goat cheese quesadillas with avocado cream sauce. This is the People.com recipe I said I wanted to try in last week’s May Blog Love post. It was realllly good (though you only need to make half of the sauce recipe, otherwise you have way too much!). I had a couple of squares of super-dark chocolate for dessert too, of course.

Snackeroo:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

A good ol’ LUNA protein bar. I had Zumba last night and needed a protein bar afterwards! I was tempted to have my second protein shake of the day but in the end I went for the quick fix :). I also had a delicious organic naval orange.

QUESTION:

  • As always, I showed you mine, now you show me yours! I wanna see what you ate today so link up any WIAW posts of your own in the comments section 🙂
Comments

  1. SO excited about your salad posts! this one looks particularly tasty – you know i love adding roasted veggies to the mix! what did you use as a dressing?

    • I use KRAFT’s Balsamic Vinaigrette. I know, I know, I could make my own, but it just doesn’t taste as good. I love it! I also have a bottle of TJ’s Hummus Dressing but I haven’t used that so far this month; I seem to just want a light vinaigrette on my salads!

  2. mmm tea. i love love love some basic delicious black tea!

  3. Welcome to WIAW! Everything looks so good.

  4. I love WIAW but am so bad with remembering to take pictures on Tuesdays! lol

    Those butternut squash goat cheese quesadillas with avocado cream sauce sound AHHMazing!!

    • They were so good, definitely give them a try! Thanks Lisa! And PS small secret, in the past my WIAW posts have been about my Monday or Sunday eats because I too don’t remember to take photos the day before. And sometimes I need to have a blog post lined up before last thing Tuesday night too!

  5. I didn’t do a WIAW 😦 But yours looks great 😀 I had greek yogurt today too 🙂 And tea obviously 😉

    I really need to make your protein muffins babe! That was the very first recipe that I ever saw on your blog 😀 xoxoxoxo

    I love the salad a day challenge! you are going to do great at it 🙂 I have a salad a day too 🙂 I don’t plan it like that though 😉

  6. I didn’t do a post about mine, although I did post my dinner recipe for tomato basil pancakes. I also ate a bunch of strawberries, carrots, rice crackers, teriyaki tofu and a Lara bar (throughout the day, not in meal form). For breakfast I had a smoothie with spinach, strawberries, almond butter, almond milk and flax seed. And a soy latte. 🙂

  7. Look at that beautiful salad! Very healthy and such a good goal to eat a salad every day

  8. Hi Anna, do you have an email I can write you at? Thanks!

  9. What a most pretty looking salad Anna, I am looking forward to what interesting combos you come up with 🙂

  10. Jamie @ Thrifty Veggie Mama says:

    I’m trying to eat more salad too but need to get to the grocery store so haven’t had one for the past couple days. Hoping to get to the store tomorrow!

  11. everydayvegangirl says:

    I love your tea mug…so cute!

  12. mmmmmmmmm that salad beast with the tofu strips sounds amazing!! same with the quesadillas. and I STILL need to try a Luna bar!!

Let's chat!

