WIAW: Sensible Snack Edition

I love Jenn‘s ideas for themed What I Ate Wednesday posts, and June’s theme is one of my favourites: sensible snacking.

After the mile-long snack ideas post I did in May, I am bursting with snack options, so much so that I am sometimes deliberately having really small meals just so I can fit in more snacks ;). (Am I the only one that does that sometimes??)

So here goes another WIAW!

Breakfast:

My fave green smoothie. This one was 1 scoop vanilla protein powder, 1-2 cups spinach leaves, 1 cup almond milk, 1 tsp peanut butter and half of a frozen banana, all whirred up. This keeps me full for SO LONG.

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Morning snack:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

My usual mid-morning tea that I rely on to fuel me through the morning until beloved lunch. I dove into my boss’s (unpictured) trail mix as a snack (he leaves it in the office for all of us to share – this is partly generous and partly dangerous as it never lasts long!)

Lunch:

OK, so I may have been so hungry I forgot to photograph this, but it was a salad that I brought to work, so it looked something like…this recycled pic:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Despite having completed my Salad-a-Day challenge, I am still having salads as often as I can. They fill me up and they are delish!

Afternoon snack:

Some more fruit and protein (the trail mix I had mid-morning was dried fruit and nuts). Fruit and protein is my favourite fill-me-up snack combo. Fruit this afternoon was an apple…

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

…and protein was a chocolate orange protein shake I made with my NuNaturals orange stevia (loving it!). I didn’t remember to photograph the smoothie but I had made it a few days ago as a dessert topped with some lowfat whipped cream, and posted it on Instagram, so here is that photo:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Dinner:

Dinner was delicioso. We did a cross-border Trader Joe’s run on Sunday and I picked up a bunch of treats! First, the baked tofu in teriyaki, which I loved. It tasted very similar to the tofu strips I make at home, but saved me a bunch of time and mess for the same cost as a block of plain tofu is up here.

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

I served that with half a baked sweet potato sprinkled with feta, some sauteed broccoli and cauliflower with paprika (a la Sara) and a variety of dipping sauces – also courtesy of Trader Joe’s: salsa verde, pineapple salsa and sour cream.

I hadn’t tried either of those salsas before. Loved the pineapple salsa, but the salsa verde just tasted like pure salt. Disappointment :(.

There was also a couple of squares of TJ’s dark chocolate in there for dessert. Bien sur.

Evening snack:

I may have devoured a blueberry protein muffin in some soy milk. I always drench my baked goods in soy and eat them like cereal. I am weird. But honestly – super good. Try it!

I once again forgot to take a pic, so you get the recipe shot.

The end!

QUESTION:

  • Name one snack you ate today…
Comments

  1. I like your tip about baked goods and milk….pretty much like cookies and milk…only like way better cuz I’m sure the muffin soaks up more of the milky goodness!

    • I’m glad you like it – most people just think I’m really weird…lol! It definitely does, I am all for things that soak up. Honestly if a cereal advertises that it “keeps its crunch in milk”, that’s enough for me to NOT buy it haha.

  2. i love sweet potatoes topped with both feta and goat cheese! i would say you are the queen of healthy snacking! sometimes i do the same thing and eat smaller meals just so i can look forward to a snack later. 🙂

    • Ooh goat cheese on sweet potatoes is good too, yes! Thank you – I wasn’t sure I was the queen of healthy snacking as I feel like all of my snacks are also kinda treats, but then I guess – in the words of another blogger friend of mine – so long as it’s “treating responsibly” it’s okay!

  3. I’m gonna try those muffins! They look really good and I’m into anything with extra protein 🙂

  4. Sam @ Fit for my Fork says:

    I have a question. I don’t like bananas (at all!) but I would like to add them to smoothies in such a way as I don’t notice them. Can you taste the bananas in your smoothie?

    • Hmm…yes…bananas are a tough one because they are a really strong flavour and very naturally sweet. Therefore, if you like them they’re awesome because they mask the flavour of greens, or other things you might not like, and they prevent you having to use any sweetness in a dish because they sweeten it for you!

      If you’re looking to try the green smoothie recipe I posted above though, I would up the peanut butter to 2 tsp or 1 tbsp, and just leave out the banana (just put some extra ice in instead). Peanut butter is a strong enough flavour to mask the greens and then you don’t have to deal with the banana. You could even throw 1 tbsp cocoa powder in there for a yummy pb+choc smoothie – I’ve made that one many a time!

      • Sam @ Fit for my Fork says:

        Thanks for the tip! Peanut butter in a smoothie sounds great… I’ve only ever put almond butter in them I think.

      • Almond butter is still good but PB has a much stronger flavour, so if you are looking to use it to mask flavours it’s great, when banana can’t do that for you. There’s so many other fruits you can throw in for a fruit smoothie too that you don’t need to worry about missing bananas! I love strawberries with peanut butter, or even adding applesauce to smoothies for a kind of apple pie/PB flavour :).

      • Sam @ Fit for my Fork says:

        I usually use frozen cherries or blueberries. They’re good at hiding the spinach!

      • Yum, I’ll try that – thank you!

  5. Today I’ve had nothing but snacks: a cup of berries, a strawberry muffin I made the other night, a handful of blueberry almond rice pops and a cup of mint tea. The rest of my day’s snack roster includes: string cheese, a hardboiled egg, some rye crackers and some cherries.

  6. Love the protein muffuns! I need to try the blueberry ones! What protein powder do you like to use?

    • Hi Lauren! Thanks so much! I use Kaizen Naturals vanilla ice cream flavoured whey protein isolate (I’m not great with lactose, so I get the isolate – they do a non-isolate version too). It tastes great and is sweetened with stevia :). It’s easy to find in Canada but don’t know about the US. If you can’t find it, go for any like Whey Gourmet or Designer Whey – I’ve heard good things about both though I’ve never tried them!

      And if you’re vegan, any vanilla powder will work well, so opt for your favourite – I’ve heard great things about Sun Warrior’s vanilla flavour and I really like Vega’s new Vega One powder too…

  7. ittybitsofbalance says:

    Lately I’ve been incorporating more protein shakes into my daily eats (inspired by you, of course 😉 ) and I’ve been so impressed by how full they keep me! I even ordered some Sunwarrior in the mail because I’m not too crazy about the brand I have now. Woot!

    Aaaand a snack I had today– Blueberries, all the way 😉

    • Blueberries are the best! My favorite snackeroo involves blueberries, raspberries and red grapes all in a bowl mixed together, so I never know which I’ll pick ;). So happy to have inspired you! I noticed your eats were including more protein :).

  8. All your meals look amazing! I will definitely need to try out Blueberry Protein Muffins asap ! How did you make protein shake ?? It looks really good !

    Today I snacked on some Turkey Muffins ! Good way to keep you full for a while ! 🙂 I keep forgetting to snack because I’m soooo busy at work. I’ll have to make time for some serious snacking !

  9. All of your food looks delicious! Seriously, those are some killer muffins Anna ;). AND I LOVE your cute little mug! How darling!

    Thanks for your awesome comment on my blog! It’s nice to know that someone can relate, although I am sorry that you’re finding yourself in the same sticky situation! Be spontaneous girly! You seem like such a blast and full of life!

Let's chat!

