WIAW: Birthday Indulgence Recovery

(Btw: HAPPY 4th of JULY to all my American peeps!)

Yeah, this past weekend was such a write-off foodwise! I didn’t eat terribly, I just ate so much stuff that isn’t usually in my diet (and so much of it!) that my body gave up on its usual schedule of getting hungry at the usual times etc, and was just stuffed all the time haha.

The good thing about indulging of course is that you get to that point where you just don’t want to see another chocolate bar or sushi roll (gasp! I never thought that was possible!) or restaurant menu, and you just want your good ol’ healthy meals and snacks back. So I was happy to respond to that request.

Thanks to Jenn for hosting and for the inspirational idea of encouraging bloggers to share their fitness tips/routines this month. Trust me, after this birthday weekend, I need it!

Breakfast – surprise, surprise – was a protein waffle. A chocolate one this time (made with pumpkin!!), which I will post soon, if you’re not all sick to death of the waffle recipes by now!

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

I seriously have one of those personalities that gets obsessed with something and in a few weeks this whole waffle thing will die down and I’ll be back onto oatmeal or pancakes or smoothies, and then a few months will go by and I will ‘rediscover’ the waffle love. I’m so predictable, lol.

Snack:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

(Yup, guilty: same pic from last week).

Again, predictable, but I’m so glad to be back in my eating routine!

A glorious (and much-needed, after a late night Monday) cup of STRONG milky tea and a homemade loaded protein granola bar.

Lunch:

Leftover sushi from our sushi feast with our friends the night before, that I totally forgot to photograph. Both last night and the leftovers for lunch today – my bad! How’s a stock photo of some edamame for you?

I ACTUALLY had: 2 pieces mango avocado roll, 2 pieces shiitake mushroom, avocado and yam roll and, yes, a whole heap of edamame :).

Surprise!

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

I was then surprised with a delivery! My amazing bosses got me the hugest bouquet I have ever seen in my life, AND a box of chocolates (that’s them on the left of the photo, peeking in!). So I opened ’em up and had one ice wine truffle as well.

Afternoon snack:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Before Zumba, I fuelled myself with what I call the most underrated snack ever: an apple dipped in peanut butter.

Dinner:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

I felt like I was in major need of veggies, so it was a MorningStar tomato and basil pizza burger topped with dill pickle, ketchup and mustard with some mushrooms (sauteed in coconut oil, garlic, salt and paprika) and carrots (roasted in olive oil and tarragon). Delish!

Evening snack:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

An indulgent protein smoothie – cottage cheese, water, ice, stevia, vanilla protein powder and half of a 100-cal pack of Oreo thins blended in at the last minute to make a Cookies ‘n’ Cream style protein shake! Even better? I added a 1/2 cup of Arctic Zero cookies ‘n’ cream ice cream that I got from Seattle this weekend. It was like dessert and a protein snack all rolled into one – soooo good!

Fitness:

A 1-hour Zumba class had me hoppin around today! This week I have a couple of Zumba classes planned, some gym sessions and then some HIIT to keep the heart rate going. What are you all up to?

QUESTION:

  • As I said, with the weather being so cool here still, I’m just not feeling like cold smoothies when I get up in the morning. I can’t wait for it to warm up! Seeing as most of the rest of this continent is experiencing a glorious heatwave, do you find you crave cold foods more when it’s hot outside?
  • I hope everyone south of the border is enjoying their day off!
Comments

  1. i know exactly what you mean about indulgence and recovery. while i love indulging (of course!) i do get to that point where i just want to be back on my normal diet and miss fresh fruit and veggies and simple, healthy, clean food. it really can do a number on your body and it feels so great to get back on track! speaking of that – next week is my beach vacation (thank god!) and i have a feeling i’ll do plenty of indulging so i’ll feel this way soon enough!

  2. Breakfast, snack, and dinner look amazing. I want to do zumba!

  3. Hi Anna! Your waffle obsession is making me snicker each time I read about it…hehe. I do not find any pattern to the foods I crave. I will want ice cream in the winter and hot chocolate in the summer, so I don’t know what dictates the cravings we have! That last pic of the protein smoothie looks so good to me! It reminds me of the chocolate malts I used to get….*drool*.

  4. Happy WIAW! I am the same as you, I get in food jags for weeks at a time. I think it drives my husband crazy. 🙂

  5. i love zumba! such a good work out!

  6. Nice to discover your blog! belated happy birthday! though it wasn’t my bday, I also ate ”unusually” this weekend due to all the canada day parties and get togethers! 😛 haha! your waffles look delicious!!! will have to try!

  7. Haha I so understand about being obsessed with a food for a while then totally forgetting about it for months at a time. I’ve been on a smoothie kick for a few months, before that it was oatmeal. I also phase in and out with rice cakes. But who cares, as long as you are enjoying it!

    All your eats look delicious 🙂

  8. I’m the exact same way! I find foods that I love, obsess over them, and then wind up forgetting about them for a while. I’ve always been that way!
    It looks like you definitely got right back on track with your eating after your birthday celebrations. That’s always the best feeling! It’s so nice to be able to indulge and know that your body will be craving healthy foods again the next day. It goes to show that we shouldn’t ever stress too much about it! Things balance themselves out. (:

  9. arctic zero is the best in smoothies. It’s like a healthy milkshake.
    I’m jealous of your yummy looking roasted veg. my mother roasted some eggplants today so they’re ready for tomorrow’s tasting. yum!
    protein waffles? Never had them but I’m going to have to try.

  10. oh my goodness your smoothie sounds amazing Anna!

    I’ve been missing our chats girl ❤ love u

  11. That is too sweet of your bosses to get you flowers!! Whenever I worked for a dentist office a few yrs back, I was obsessed with peanut m&ms. Well for my birthday, everyone had gotten me bags of m&ms.. and i’m not talking about the small ones, i’m talking about the big ones that should take a normal person a couple days or weeks to eat. Yeah, they were gone in no time.

    That smoothie of yours sounds absolutely amazing. I never though to mix in the 100cal pack snacks.. it’s now a MUST TRY!

    Oh, I’ll eat smoothies all year round. I’m that girl when it’s snowing outside, I’ll be enjoying a nice smoothie… under 5 layers of blankets as well. I can just never get enough of em 😉

    • Ooh peanut M&Ms – love em! I wish I craved smoothies all year round! I don’t totally go off them in winter but I certainly have them less often. But they’re so good for you, it’s great if you can enjoy them year round!

  12. Oh yum, all your food looks so tasty. Love the granola bars 🙂

  13. Mmm the smoothie sounds pretty epic right now… especially because it’s hot as heck here today, and the thought of anything hot to eat makes me cringe! lol
    Glad you had a wonderful time at your birthday, but I can understand the need and want to get back on track!

    • Exactly! I totally get like that when it’s hot vs cold – I just can’t face hot foods. My mom has a cup of steaming hot coffee EVERY day (and we are from the Caribbean, so yes, she had one every day back home!). I just can’t get over how she can have hot drinks in hot weather – I didn’t start drinking hot tea until I moved to Canada for university and needed a way to get through the winters!

  14. I get stuck on meals too! I thought I was the only one, what with all of these blogs having new munchies everyday. Soon, I will, as you say, “rediscover” pancakes, apples, etc. That waffle may be my next fad. Lol.

    • You are not alone, I promise! Haha yes, make waffles your next fad – I promise they’re worth it! Though I broke out of the mold this morning and had a Fitnessista breakfast cookie and it was SO good (my first time trying it) that it may just be my newest obsession.

Let's chat!

