I’m Back…Kinda!

Thanks everyone for being so patient with me while I was in Calgary celebrating the arrival of my niece.

I have to be honest; while I was away I really enjoyed having nothing to do – no work (on vacation, obviously) and no blogging. I enjoy blogging, don’t get me wrong, but while away I came to the realization that 5 days a week of blog posts has been pretty hardcore.

The thing is, when I take a break from something I love doing I’m usually itching to get back to it by the time my break is halfway through or over. As of yet, that itch has not come. I think it could just be that I need to cut back on my blogging significantly, only posting when I really feel like it. Or it could just be that I need to take a longer break and wait for that itch to return – I’m sure it will!

One thing is for sure; I did miss reading your blogs, so although I wasn’t doing much commenting I have somewhat been keeping up to date with my blogroll and what’s been going on, so I’ll keep at that for a while.

So hopefully soon I will have come to a decision about what to do but in the meantime, the blog is still here with all its old posts to read through and I will still be keeping up to date with y’all through your blogs, and on my Twitter (@annawootton) and Instagram (@annawootton). Thanks for being so patient with me!

Comments

  1. Blogging can be exhausting! You’re smart to take a break. I’m on a vacay, & I’m still blogging, but it’s a tricky balance. Good for you.

  2. I’m soooo with you! I’ve been on a bit of a blogging break myself…today was my first post in like a week! I’ve actually been enjoying the break too. I’m also deciding how many posts I want to commit to going forward. 5 is a bit much for me too, especially with a new baby coming!

  3. I’m with you, girl! I marvel at people who can blog 3x/day or even EVERY day. Between work and actually working out, cooking dinner, having a social life, etc., I find I definitely sometimes skimp on real-life chores (cleaning, etc) and sleep when I blog! Such a tough balance. Blogging should be something we enjoy, not feel like a chore!

  4. Emily Butler says:

    I’ve been having the itch to blog but with three kids and all this summer fun we’ve been having by the time I put them to bed I just want to surf the net mindlessly haha

  5. So happy you are back, but I totally know what you mean, love! When I went to London two weeks ago I was without internet access all the time and it was so nice to get away!

  6. Enjoy this break and hope to hear from you soon! Can’t wait to see some pictures of the new addition to your family ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Enjoy your blogging break! And welcome back from Calgary! I definitely understand how its nice to take a break from creating posts and putting pressure on yourself that way! Do what will make you happy right now!

  8. For my sake, I hope you come back to it….at least once a week! It’s been great getting to know you, and I hope to see you on Twitter! Also, I’m blogging about your apple protein cake tomorrow to tell everyone (or rather the 5 readers I have) how great it is! You really have a talent with recipes, and, from the beginning, your comments on my blog and the ones I’ve seen on other blogs have always struck me as so thoughtful and genuine…not the typical ‘that looks great’ comment. You inspired me to start writing more thoughtfully. Congratulations on your new niece!

  9. Aww! I’m so glad to hear from you!
    I completely understand needing a blogging break. That’s exactly why I stepped away from a few months and, to be completely honest, it was amazing. Just what I needed. If you think that’s what will make you happy right now, do it! We’ll always be here!
    I will miss your frequent posts though. ): Please keep me updated on everything!

  10. hey girl! glad to see a post from you and glad to have a comment from you on my blog! i certainly missed yours posts, but also your sweet and thoughtful comments. i completely get the feeling of enjoying a week or so without blogging. for me, when i took time off for the beach i did have that itch to return. we all understand and will be here for you no matter what – i hope you find the balance that makes you happy!

  11. It’s so important to take breaks! No matter what you choose we will understand and support you ๐Ÿ™‚ Although, just throwing my 2 cents in, I would be very sad should you decide to stop blogging ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. Blogging should be fun…unless it’s your primary source of income, and then you can have a sense of obligation to it. But I blog when I feel like it. I used to open wordpress, look at the blank page and feel guilty for having nothing to say or be driving in my car and think “I haven’t blogged in three days…I should do that.” Now I realize, it’s a hobby. And MOST people who pound out three blogs a day make money at it. I don’t. So I let it go. And it’s fun again. And like you said, a large part of it is the community. You can still comment and participate without writing a whole post every day.

  13. I definitely hear you on the blog break! I think I posted two or three times in the past two months ๐Ÿ˜› I feel like I’m coming back to it now. I felt worried about abandoning it, but none of my readers have left. You’re likeable, Anna, so I’m sure all of your readers will still be here waiting ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy your time with your sister & your little niece! Congratulations to you & your family ๐Ÿ™‚ xoxo

  14. Hi Anna! Glad you got back safely. I am feeling exactly the same right now… blogging has kind of lost its appeal to me recently. I guess I’ve been doing other things but blogging isn’t a priority. I’m not sure it will be again and I don’t know if I want it to be. Ack! I’ll keep checking your blog for updates Anna, whether they come every day or every week or every month! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. ittybitsofbalance says:

    Hey Anna! So glad to hear you returned safely, and also for your blogging revelation! That’s something that I recently discovered about my life as well– it’s so refreshing to have more time ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. I pretty much took a 7 month break…it is tiring and takes lots of brain energy!

Let's chat!

