Accept My Apology…with a Blogiversary Giveaway?

Hey all!

It’s been forever since I posted, so I figured I should come back with a bang.

I’m fast approaching my blogiversary – 1 year of being here, sharing recipes, thoughts and fitness ideas with y’all.

My actual blogiversary for The Guiltless Life (it began as Guiltless & Gourmet beforehand) is August 29th. I thought I would express my apologies for my absence and try and celebrate my blogiversary with a giveaway…sound good?

I’ll leave this one up for 10 days, giving you lots of chances to enter! Then I’ll announce the winner on my blogiversary, Wednesday August 29th!

So I’m sure you’d rather find out what I have to offer rather than what I’ve been up to, right?

(Btw, I may not be blogging much lately but I still exist – so feel free to keep up with me on Twitter and Instagram – the handle for both is annawootton!)

Fair enough – besides, I can pretty much summarize what I’ve been up to in 3 short bullet points:

  • Living life and enjoying the summer! Spending time with family, friends and outdoors in this lovely weather (see pic above!). Enjoying, to be honest, the lack of screen time when it’s so nice outside.
  • Being completely glued to the Olympics, which totally conflicts with the above point. I wanted to get outside yet I wanted to watch all of the action going down! I did as much PVRing and fast-forwarding as I could and watched the events that I really loved – swimming, gymnastics, tennis, soccer, diving, athletics…okay, so there was a lot!
  • Working, and a lot of thinking!

I’ll hopefully elaborate more on that last point as things become clearer in my own head!

Told you there wasn’t much to share ;). Now onto the giveaway…

If anyone out there is as avid a CLIF bar eater as I am (check out my love for LUNA bars as previously expressed, here), you’ll be just as excited about the new CLIF Bar Crunch which is now out in Canada. The lovely peeps over at CLIF sent me a sample of the flavours – white chocolate macadamia, chocolate chip, blueberry crisp and peanut butter.

My thoughts…

I was seriously impressed by these bars. Why?

1) The crunch factor. I didn’t expect to, honestly, because I have always been more of a chewy girl than a crunchy one when it comes to protein or granola bars or cookies etc. But these were awesome. Has anyone else had those Nature Valley granola bars? These reminded me of that – they come in a pack of 2 crunchy bars and the peanut butter one tastes very similar to the peanut butter flavour of the Nature Valley bars. But these have better nutritionals (more protein, more healthy fats) and way more flavours than the NV bars.

2) I liked EVERY flavour. This also doesn’t happen all that often. I even wrote in my LUNA bar review that I’m not the biggest fan of the Lemon Zest flavour (yet I know people who love that and hate my favourite, Nutz Over Chocolate, so I guess it depends on individual tastebuds). But I loved ALL of these. If I had to choose a least favourite it would probably be the Peanut Butter only because I felt like I’d tasted it before. And if you know me, me not preferring a peanut butter flavour bar is crazy! My favourite? Probably the Blueberry Crisp! It tasted so fresh and delicious and I couldn’t imagine anything better than crumbling a bar up over some Greek yogurt sweetened with lemon stevia. Blueberry and lemon goodness! I really don’t think much needs to be said about the White Chocolate Macadamia and Chocolate Chip flavours – yes they are awesome (duh!).

3) The nutrition info impressed me. The whole pack of both bars is 190 cals, but because they’re packaged in two bars I easily could take one and, as I said, have it over Greek yogurt, for a really protein-packed snack under 200 cals. On the other hand, if I was on a hike or somewhere where I wanted more carbs, I would have the whole pack and it’s perfect in that way for its portability.

4) I could really taste the whole grains in this bar. It’s made with organic whole grains made up of oats, barley and rye (so it’s high in fibre too!) and I loved that I could detect the actual grains in the bar, and knew I was having something made with whole grains that absorb slower into my bloodstream, for more lasting energy.

5) A lot of the sweetness comes from honey, which I super appreciate, being a fan of natural sweeteners. I have to say, I had a bar and it didn’t spike my blood sugar the way sugary items do, so that was a major plus too. Obviously, as the bars were partly created by athletes, they have looked into creating a product that will give you sustained energy through a workout rather than a sugar spike and crash.

Okay, you’ve convinced me, so what do we get??

Okay, okay, I’ll get to the good stuff!

CLIF Bars is giving one lucky Guiltless Life reader $50 worth of energy products!

These will include:

  • of course, the new CLIF Crunch bars
  • LUNA bars (pictured)
  • CLIF bars
  • CLIF Shots
  • CLIF Shot Bloks

To enter, you have to live in Canada (I promise a US giveaway will come along soon!), and complete one or more of the following (each action gets an entry – just leave a comment including all the entries you’ve made so I give you credit for them all!):

  • Retweet my tweet about this giveaway (which can be found here)
  • Like my Facebook post about this giveaway (which can be found here)
  • Follow me on Twitter (here)
  • Like me on Facebook (here)
  • Leave a comment letting me know your go-to for a healthy snack

There you have it – 5 chances to win, and entries close at 5pm Pacific Time on Tuesday August 28th. Best of luck!

Comments

  1. I liked your facebook post!

  2. I followed you on twitter!

  3. I like you on facebook!

  4. My go-to snack is granola bars because they’re just really easy…if I have more time I usually try to have something like a hard boiled egg with fruit!

  5. Liked your FB post

  6. I follow you on Twitter

  7. I like you on FB – I really do 😉

  8. With this weather we’ve been receiving there is always a mix of berries and cut up melons (esp watermelon) in the fridge.

  9. Gabrielle says:

    I follow you on Twitter, like you on FB, retweeted your Tweet and my fav healthy snack is either bars, nuts or greek yogourt!

  10. What’s up girl!!! So glad to see a new post from you!!! I hope this means you’ll be back more often….? 🙂 I think my favorite snack is apples with peanut butter…pretty typical! Granola and yogurt is another good one!
    Once again, happy you’re back!

  11. roselyn page says:

    Liked in FB and follow on twitter. My go to snack lately has been either a Quest bar or peanut butter on an apple, These look so good.

  12. YAY! So happy to hear from you. (:
    Happy (almost) blogiversary. I wish I could enter the giveaway but I’m glad that a lucky Canadian will get to enjoy the goodies! Clif products are my absolute favorite.

  13. Happy (early) Blogiversary! Luna Bars & Clif Bars have a special place in my heart so I love this giveaway! Lately my go-to snack has been brown rice cakes with mashed avocado and sea salt. I am in snackage heaven when I eat that!

  14. I follow you on Twitter!

  15. I retweeted the giveaway!

  16. Jeannette Laframboise says:

    RT’ed by @JeannetteNL

  17. Jeannette Laframboise says:

    Liked your FB post about giveaway as
    Jeannette Naylor Laframboise

  18. Jeannette Laframboise says:

    I follow you on Twitter as @JeannetteNL

  19. Jeannette Laframboise says:

    I follow you on Facebook as
    Jeannette Naylor Laframboise

  20. Jeannette Laframboise says:

    When I want a healthy snack, I generally have fruit or vegetables. I have never tried any of these bars but would love to. Maybe I’ll be lucky & win and they will become my new favorite snack. 😉

  21. My favourite healthy snack, as of right now, is chopped veggies with hummus!

    So glad you’re back! Hope you’re gonna stick around 😉

  22. I retweeted your tweet! (@veggienook)

  23. I follow you on twitter! (@veggienook)

  24. I liked your FB page!

  25. and finally, I liked your FB post about this giveaway 🙂

  26. I retweeted your tweet @mariacornucopia

  27. I follow you on twitter @mariacornucopia

  28. I liked your Facebook post about this awesome giveaway!

  29. I like you on Facebook 🙂

  30. My favorite go-to healthy snack at the moment are homemade Chocolate Blueberry Bliss balls..almonds, dates, blueberries, hemp seeds..so tasty! 😀

  31. I liked your Facebook post!

  32. I retweeted you on Twitter!

  33. I already follow you on Twitter! 🙂

  34. and I already follow you on Facebook! with both my personal page AND my blog page! 😀

  35. as for favourite healthy snack…I love Clif bars, Larabars, & Simply Bars. I still have yet to try the Luna bar, though I’ve heard many great things! I love the sound of these new Clif Crunch bars!! Crossing my fingies & toesies 😀

    Welcome back, Anna! Your summer sounds like mine- I haven’t been blogging much lately, either. We have to live life, too 😉 xo

  36. Favorite go to snacks are clif or simply bars 🙂

  37. i would love to win! i always go for luna and clif bars!

  38. Joanne Wong says:

    I liked you on facebook!

  39. Joanne Wong says:

    I liked your facebook post on this giveaway 🙂

  40. Joanne Wong says:

    My favorite snack at the moment is plain yogurt topped with some muesli

  41. Liked you on FB!

  42. Liked your post on FB!

  43. Following you on Twitter

  44. Retweeted!

  45. My go-to healthy snack is an apple with PB! Sooo good.

  46. So happy you’re BACK! My go-to healthy snack if often a bar similiar to the ones you’re giving away (although I’ve never tried most of those flavours)! I love Luna Bars and Larabars and the odd Clif Bar I’ve been able to get my handsd on!

  47. I follow you on twitter, liked you on fb and liked your post about this on fb. My go-to healthy snack is either hummus and veggies or greek yogurt with granola and fruit yum!

  48. OH. MY. GOSHHHHH. Anna! ❤ Do you know how much I think of you!? Missing you but loving knowing that you are loving your summer 🙂 thanks for the giveaway

  49. my go to healthy snack is definitely Greek yogurt OR no-drain canned tuna 😉 HAHA

  50. I like you on FB girl 😉 (why on Earth wasn’t I likin’ ya before????)

  51. I OBVIOUSLY follow you on the Twitta 😉

  52. Liked your FB post 🙂

  53. I RT’d you girl! 🙂

  54. I liked you on Facebook! 🙂

    My go-to for a healthy snack is an apple with peanut butter. This allows me to be eating something clean and healthy, while getting in my essential nutrients, such as protein!

  55. I love apples and blueberries for snacking – great giveaway!

  56. I follow you on Twitter!

  57. Liked your post!

  58. Liked your page!

  59. followed you on twitter

  60. liked your fb page

  61. re-tweeted

  62. liked your fb post about the giveaway

  63. my favourite snack is fresh fruit

  64. I already liked you on facebook

  65. I retweeted the tweet @gfshorty

  66. I liked your post on facebook

  67. I already follow you on twitter

  68. My favourite go-to healthy snack is homemade granola bars or quinoa granola or chopped veggies and hummus!

  69. I love a good microwaved protein muffin for a snack – 100 calories and minimal work!

  70. I also follow you on Twitter.

  71. oh my god. you are back. i think it is strange how ridiculously happy this makes me. how important blog friendships are to me. and you…are one of the most important. just so you know. glad to hear that you took time away and enjoyed it with family, friends, and with yourself. can’t wait to hear about your thinking (what you want to share). so glad to have you back!

  72. oh and i guess enter me once? i’m not sure i can eat cliff bars (soy free?). but, my favorite healthy snack – of course – apples and almonds!

  73. Happy blogiversary!!

  74. Long time Twitter girlfriend!

  75. You’ve got my thumbs up on FB.

  76. Retweeted! (and already see one of my friends has, too…dammit, I want to win!)

  77. Liked the post on your facebook page.

  78. And finally, my usual go-to healthy snack is cucumber dipped in mushed avocado – but if it has to be an easy portable snack I’d go with a handful of nuts, a Luna bar, a Lara bar or a Vega bar. yum yum! Now I want a snack.

  79. Liked your Post and facebook page!
    I love the cliff bars but also love the Lara Bars! I also love nuts, veggies or yougurt

Trackbacks

Let's chat!

