Happy Blogiversary to Me! (CLIF Giveaway Winner Announced)

Happy blogiversary to me!

One year ago today I started The Guiltless Life with a recipe for Gruyere, Leek and Roasted Red Pepper Quiche (still one of my favourite quiche recipes!).

I had been blogging previously under a blog titled Guiltless & Glamorous, when I provided up-to-date info on beauty and fashion manufacturers who produced goods that weren’t tested on animals.

Then I launched into the food side of things with Guiltless & Gourmet, posting my dinner every day in an attempt to answer that oft-asked question of vegetarians: What do you eat?

After getting involved with the blog world through reading blogs, particularly some of my favourites, I decided to launch the two together in a new lifestyle blog, and thus, The Guiltless Life was born.

I launched it with four sections – NOURISH (food), MOVE (exercise), PRETTIFY (beauty/fashion) and PONDER (everything in between) as a way to keep myself accountable for my lifestyle but also encourage a community where great ideas could be shared to encourage us all to continue to grow on our healthy living paths.

I suppose it’s sadly ironic that on this, the blog’s 1-year anniversary, I’m not 100% sure of its future, but that doesn’t really matter. It’s been a great year and I’ve learned a ton. Let’s see…

  • I hated tofu when I started this blog. Now I put it in smoothies. Nuts.
  • I had never heard of, or did not use: hemp hearts, flax eggs, almond milk, stevia, coconut sugar, almond and coconut flours, xanthan gum (or guar gum), tapioca starch (or basically anything about gluten-free baking), microwave muffins in a mug, using beans or chickpeas in baked goods…the list goes on. Oh, and – whether you believe it or not – I had never made a protein baked good in my life.
  • I had never done a cleanse.
  • I didn’t set monthly goals. Not even in my mind. Now I don’t know how I ever got anything done!
  • I hadn’t met a bunch of awesome peeps that I consider my friends.

So to round up this 1-year post (before I get to announcing the winner of the CLIF bar giveaway, which I know you all want to know!), I thought I’d point out some of my favourite posts over this past year:

  • Most Underrated Recipe: This Riso alla Orientale. It’s the most delicious Indian/Italian meal I’ve ever had.

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

  • Most Enjoyable Blogging Community Experience: The cookie swap! (Of course! You should know by now I’m a total cookie monster).

  • Best Physical Activity I’ve Tried: Stand-up paddleboarding, for sure. So fun, it’s a shame it’s seasonal :(.

Copyright to southfloridaadventures.com

  • My Favourite WIAW Post: Everything in this post was so delicious, and yet so balanced nutritionally. I need to eat like this every day!

  • Favourite Treat I Created: Probably these Lindor truffle-like homemade chocolate truffles. Melt-in-your-mouth divine.

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

  • Post That Received the Most Heartfelt Response: This one about my writing, the hurricane my family went through, the books that I had written that were destroyed in that hurricane…hoo boy. This didn’t get as many comments but it got me a lot of emails that were LONG, heartfelt emails from people who were writers and were thanking me for my honesty or just people who appreciated the post. I was really touched by the response I got to this post.

If I have to say one thing about this blog, I am so grateful for the memories it has afforded me. Browsing through this year’s posts to see what has gone on, I realize that I:

  • have achieved many, many goals
  • attended my first writers’ conference, where I had my work critiqued by an editor and I pitched my book to an agent (and subsequently received a manuscript request!)
  • have become an aunt (yayyy!)
  • have travelled widely
  • have improved my eating habits a lot
  • have tried lots of new workouts
  • have had laser eye surgery

It’s fun to have an electronic record of all of this to go back to in future years.

For now, though, let’s get to the goodies ;).

And the winner of the CLIF bar giveaway, at long last, is…

Congrats aoberle:

Email me at theguiltlesslife@gmail.com with your full name, postal address and phone number so I can pass it onto the lovely peeps at CLIF bar – and your goodies will be on their way shortly!

And to everyone else, thanks for entering and thanks for sticking with me and reading over this past year. It’s been a total blast and even if nothing more comes of this blog, I have really enjoyed myself!

So see you soon…maybe! 🙂

Comments

  1. Wow you really have accomplished a lot in the last year, you should be so proud, since I’m insanely proud of you! Here’s to another year just as full of rewarding experiences 🙂

  2. Happy 1st Blogiversary! What an awesome year you’ve had!!

  3. so much to be proud of, Anna. i didn’t even know you had two previous blogs so this was fun for me to read. i hope The Guiltless Life turns into exactly what you want/need it to be. can’t wait to follow along…

  4. Happy 1 year to your blog! I love this round up post about your year!! Such a great idea. I love reading your blog and being able to get to know you more! You’ve really created an amazing blog, Anna!

  5. HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY!! What a gorgeous wrap up, too. It’s been a big year for you and we’re so glad you’re here. 🙂 xx

  6. Aw! So many exciting things. You should be really proud of yourself. (:
    Happy Blogiversary!!

  7. Happy Blogiversary!! Going to try those pumpkin cream cheese muffins!! 🙂

  8. Miss you tons! You are one of a few I’ve really felt a friendship with, even if it is over the internet. Don’t forget to swing by and visit me!

  9. P.s. I gotta ask…how the hell did you get Josie Maran to follow you on Twitter? I love that chick!

  10. I love this post! I’ve come to a lot of the same realizations you have- many wonderful things that I have discovered as a result of my blog, yet I’m feeling the desire to continue with it less & less. I still enjoy it sometimes, but I’m okay with keeping my updates sporadic & unpredictable. Mostly I like to post so that I have a log of recipes I love 😛
    Anyhoo, I’m so glad I “met” you through the community! Hopefully one day we’ll have that sushi date ❤ Take care, Anna. I'll keep checking back here for more posts!

    • I miss you girl! But once connections are made they are easy to keep up and yes, it made me too sad to think of closing the blog completely but I just don’t have the urge to update it that often right now so periodic posts are best for me. I’m going through a few changes personally and I think that is a big part of why I am so distracted, but once these changes have happened I will probably have the urge to sit down and write again and it’s comforting to know the blog is still here in the meantime. PS I’m off to order that PB2 now!! xxx

Let's chat!

