2013 Goals

2013

Has everyone accepted the fact that it’s 2013 yet?

Unlike previous years, when I would still write 2011 instead of 2012 for the date and it seemed to take me 2 or 3 weeks to accept that the New Year had arrived, I am more than ready for it to be 2013, and I am very gung-ho about what this year is going to bring!

Do any of you ever get that? An intrinsic feeling that this year is just going to rock?

Like I said last time, I completed my annual dream/inspiration/vision board before New Year’s Eve – my sister, mom and I all sat around the dining table and put our goals and dreams for this year onto card in the form of images and words that resonate with us. My dream board now sits directly opposite my bed so it’s the first thing I see every morning and the last thing I see at night.

Example of a dream board.

Example of a dream board.

The great thing about dream boards is – whether or not you agree with the idea that we can manifest our goals by the power of visualization (see: The Secret for more on that!), it can’t hurt, can it? At worst it’s just a fun arts and crafts project that gets your mind thinking about what you want to achieve in 2013. At best, it’s a powerful tool that helps you achieve your greatest dreams and goals.

An example of a dream board.

An example of a dream board.

Don’t be afraid to put things on your board that you don’t have control over. Wishing that your family members’ health continues to thrive, or that your cousin Jennifer gets pregnant as she so desperately wants to – these aren’t things you can create by putting into place action steps. But they are still things that you can lend your positive thoughts and energy to, so what’s the harm in including them on your board?

Example of a dream board.

Example of a dream board.

I think my dream board for 2013 is still, at this point, quite personal to me so I don’t really want to share it just yet. But I did take a look back at last year’s inspiration board, and I am thrilled at how 2012 turned out and how well it represented what I had hoped for on the board:

Vision board 2012

  • I stayed fit and varied my fitness, incorporating dance, Zumba, running and yoga into my workout schedule
  • I may not have snowboarded as much as I would have liked but I took the opportunity to embrace outdoor activity in winter time – always a struggle for me!
  • I made new friends and embraced new opportunities to meet more people – joining a book club, moving cities, throwing myself into social activities
  • My sister had a healthy baby girl, my niece, in July. Bear in mind we didn’t know the gender of the baby – it was a surprise – and I included a baby girl on my inspiration board! Not only that, but the photo of the baby I picked looks uncannily like my niece! (Another interesting note: a psychic I once saw said that ‘a baby would come into my life when I was 27’ and 10 days after my 27th birthday, my niece was born…)
  • I opened up a world of income earning by enrolling in the Institute of Integrative Nutrition’s health coaching course, to become a qualified holistic health coach.
  • I took more photos – not perhaps as often, but when I did take my camera out I dedicated myself to taking some great shots.
  • I went back home for a holiday and thoroughly enjoyed reconnecting with family friends, paddleboarding and having some fun in the sun.

Although I’m not sure that I want to share 2013’s board yet, I can share some goals of mine for this year, 2013:

produce

  • I cannot wait to start taking on health coaching clients in April. My specialty will be weight loss (and gain, or maintenance), in a manner that encourages a change of lifestyle, not a fad diet. It won’t be restrictive, it won’t be boring, it won’t even be that difficult. It’ll just be you, embracing a new life, and reaping the rewards in the form of a healthier body. Helping people to make that shift is extremely exciting for me.
  • Spending more time with family is going to hopefully be an easier one now that we have booked our trip back to the UK. I last went two years ago, in March, on my own and it was the first time I had been back in 10 years! This year, in March again, my mom, sister, brother-in-law, niece and I are all going back to England, where we’ll be able to spend time with my brother, aunt, uncle, cousins and grandmother, who all live there. My grandmother is turning 80 in April and my uncle is turning 50 in late March so it’s a great time to go and celebrate together – and a complete surprise to my grandma, who has no idea we’re going!
  • Continuing to learn about new whole foods and incorporate them into my diet is always fun and thankfully, I am exposed to so many knowledgeable people and resources through my health coaching course. I can’t wait to see what fun and funky foods I’ll be incorporating this year – last year I already brought in chia seeds, herbal mixtures, goldenberries, raw cacao and got back into the fine world of sprouts. More to come this year I’m sure!
  • And as usual, each New Year I cleanse to rid my body of the toxins that have no doubt stored up thanks to the relative inactivity and poor diet that come with holiday season. I’m on Day 2 of my 12-day Wild Rose Detox, as I mentioned last post, and will post at some point with some of the foods I’ve been eating so you can all have a glimpse into a day in the life on this cleanse! Click here for one of last year’s posts about the cleanse.

If you are willing, if you could share your goals with me for 2013 I would love to hear some!

Comments

  1. I love that you sat with your mother and sister together to set your goals. And it sounds like you have a great year ahead! My goal is to stay on the healthy track i developed in the last 6 months and to define my muscles / lose the last bit of weight.
    So sweet that you are going to surprise your grandma!

  2. Hope that 2013 brings you everything you are working for and MORE! Best wishes to you. I will look forward to reading about it as it unfolds!

  3. Love reading about blogger’s goals, i can’t wait to write mine 🙂 and last year i also decided to go snowboarding more often but didn’t end up doing it. This year i already went once so it’s a good start for me 😉 and i’m going to try skiing again so it’s gonna be loads of fun (for the ones watching me of course ;))

  4. I just found your blog and I LOVE your dream board idea (and that you work on it with your mom and sister!) ♥ I’m a little late starting, but I think I’ll try to put one together this week… 13 is my *favorite* number everrr so I’m all about 2013! 🙂

  5. I started to create vision board last year, but sadly never finished it! I want to try and finish it this year though. You boards looks so inspiring and I think it would be great to hang one in my bathroom.

    You’re going to make a great health coach! I am so excited to get my certificate this year 🙂

  6. I love that you had a great year, & have so much to look forward to in 2013. How exciting that you can start taking clients in April!! So close! That went by fast 🙂
    I hope you’re enjoying lots of time with your baby niece ❤

    • They’ve headed off to Cayman for 2 months so I am missing her! But yes I had a great time spending so much time with her over Christmas! I know, I can’t wait till April – you are still studying for another 6 months at that point so you take clients on a reduced rate 6 month program where you can get support from teachers and other students if you encounter questions you don’t know how to answer. Then in September I’m fully certified to take on clients on my own! I can’t wait :).

  7. Love the idea of making a visual representation of your goals like that! I’ll have to think of doing something similar myself! All the best in 2013!

  8. You’ve inspired me to do a cleanse as well! Good for you for creating such great goals for yourself and sharing them! Isn’t sharing them a secret to success? One my goals is to incorporate a consistent workout schedule for myself this new year. I walk the dog everyday, do a few situps and runs here and there, but nothing consistent! Congrats on going back to the UK! Where in England do they live? I’m excited for you- seeing family is the best! 🙂

  9. You have inspired me to create a vision board! Best to us both in 2013!

  10. happy new year doll. i hope yours is healthy – both for your body and mind.

Let's chat!

