Banana Bread Protein Breakfast Pudding

I know, I know, another breakfast recipe.

Don’t blame me! I’m just gettin’ all kinds of breakfast inspiration right now!

My first idea was to make a baked banana bread protein oatmeal, like the baked apple pie oatmeal I posted last week.

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Then I thought – I really want this to be more than just ‘banana oatmeal’. I want it to be ‘banana bread oatmeal’.

So I figured…which might sound totally crazy…that I should put some bread in this!

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Still with me?

promise you’ll enjoy this if you just believe in it ;).

The bread gives a chewier texture to oatmeal, and soaks up the milk so softens slightly. I love it. But you can always omit the bread if you’re just not sure.

Give it a go!

Banana Bread Protein Breakfast Pudding (inspired by Lauren’s Banana Bread Oatmeal, here)

INGREDIENTS (serves 1):

1/3 banana
1 cup unsweetened soy milk
1-2 T egg whites (or 1 egg white)
1/3 cup oats
1/3 scoop protein powder
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp cinnamon
Pinch nutmeg
Pinch salt
1/8 tsp molasses
1 slice bread
1 tsp chocolate chips, 1 T walnuts etc for topping (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

1. Blend your banana, milk and egg whites together in a Magic Bullet or blender till banana is smooth.

2. Pour banana mixture over oats in a small saucepan and heat gently for 15-20 minutes, stirring constantly, until thickened and cooked.

3. Take off the heat and stir in the protein powder (especially important to do this after removing from heat if you are using whey protein powder, which tends to separate when heated).

4. Add vanilla and spices, and molasses and stir well. Transfer about 1/3 of the oatmeal mixture back to your Magic Bullet or blender and process till smooth.

5. Meanwhile, break up the slice of bread, fold into the remaining oatmeal and let sit.

6. When blended oats are smooth, add them back to the bowl, incorporate well and add your toppings. Enjoy!

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Nutritional information per pudding if serves 1:

304 cals
5.7g fat
41.8g carbs
22.9g protein

I’ve linked this post up at Katie’s Marvelous in my Monday link party!

QUESTION:

  • How was your weekend? Did you do anything fun? Here it was all about enjoying the sunshine with berry picking with friends and shopping downtown – I got some goodies from Lululemon and Zara! And my girlfriends and I took advantage of the VIP section at the local cinema and went to see Magic Mike. Fun times!

Comments

  1. I absolutely love this kind of breakfast… a huge bowl of oatmeal/cereal of some sort, and with all of the great foods thrown in there for optimal nutrition? Love it Anna! Thanks for the idea 🙂

  2. This sounds so delicious! And don’t worry about posting another breakfast recipe- with breakfast inspirations this good, I don’t see how anyone could blame you! 🙂

    • Aw thanks Gabby – so weird how I go through phases, but right now it’s all about the breakfast! One day when I run out of breakfast inspiration I will hopefully be grateful that I have all these recipes to look back on 😉

  3. Emily Butler says:

    Great idea with the bread chunks! What would be super awesome is a slice of healthy banana bread to throw in!

  4. I’m totally with you on this one. It sounds fantastic!

  5. How was Magic Mike? It’s funny, all my girlfriends have been seeing it with other girls, and I’m going with my husband! Your oatmeal looks great, btw! I love molasses! It’s one of the most underrated sweeteners in my opinion!

    • I actually really enjoyed Magic Mike! I thought it would be pure dance scenes and smutty entertainment, which I was all up for, but there were some things about the actual plot that made me respect it more – it doesn’t try to ‘glamorize’ the life of a stripper at all!

      However, my one gripe – which will probably please your husband! – is that other than some bare butt shots, the rated R for nudity is actually because we see more women naked than we do men :(. So typical of Hollywood!

  6. This looks awesome but I have to say I’m wary of trying to put bread inside of oatmeal. I might try it out sooner than later though, just to form my own real opinion 😛

  7. Mmm, this pudding looks amazing!

  8. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes says:

    Mmm! I am so crazy about molasses. I think it’s under-used 😉

  9. Berry picking and shopping sounds like a GREAT weekend!

    Your breakfast looks amazing, I love those chocolate pieces! You had those in another recipe too, just look so damn good!

    Happy monday! ❤

  10. Yum that looks amazing!!! Anything with chocolate for breakfast and I’m in!

  11. My weekend was good. Full of family stuff, which is nice. We hadn’t seen some of them in a while. Sunday we ran errands and relaxed.

    What did you think of Magic Mike??

    • It was really good! It surprised me because I thought it would be pure smutty dance entertainment but there was a plot, and I appreciated that it didn’t attempt to glamorize the world of stripping. I thought it was definitely worth a go – it helped that there were four of us girls going too, it was so much fun for a girls’ night!

  12. My weekend was really fun as well! I’m glad you got to spend some time with your friends and that you enjoyed Magic Mike. Even though it has received mixed reviews, I’m still planning to see it!
    And, of course, your breakfast looks amazing. You’ve become a pro at creating delicious meals that are nutritious AND filled with protein. I love it!

  13. OH MY GOSH! Ok to be honest I think this is your best recipe yet sweetheart 😉 I am going to try this when I get back from London and tell you how AMAZING it is 🙂 THANK YOU!!!!!

    My weekend was great 🙂 I did so much recipe development!!!!!!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Banana Bread Protein Breakfast Pudding […]

Let's chat!