WIAW: Detox Edition

Yesterday I blogged about my detox – the first of two I am doing back to back this month.

A couple of you have asked about what I’m eating on the cleanse and so, in keeping with the What I Ate Wednesday theme (thanks to Jenn for hosting!), I thought I would blog a typical day’s eats on this detox.

This cleanse is the Wild Rose Herbal Detox, which is made up of four herbal blends conjured up by renowned herbalist Terry Willard, which you take twice a day. In conjunction with the herbal mixtures, the cleanse has a diet booklet where it tells you what foods you can and cannot eat.

It is based on the alkaline/acid rule which most of you may already be familiar with, particularly if you have read Kris Carr’s Crazy Sexy Diet or have been to her Crazy Sexy Life website at all, as this is the diet she claims helped her manage her cancer diagnosis and restore her to health.

Photo from Amazon.com

The idea is to eat 80% of your diet from alkaline foods and 20% from acidic foods, in order to create a perfect pH balance in the body of 7.0+. A while ago I bought some pH testing tape online – it’s easy, you can use it to test your urine or saliva, so I just place the tape on my tongue for a quick saliva test, and I got a result of 6.6 before starting this cleanse. I’m looking forward to testing it in 12 days to see if it’s any more alkaline!

Here are some examples of foods not allowed on this cleanse:

  • flour products
  • sweeteners
  • chocolate
  • sweet fruit such as bananas, pineapple, mangoes etc
  • fermented foods like soy sauce, vinegars etc

These foods are known for increasing acidity in the body, or increasing the presence of yeast in your body, so the diet really wants you to cut them out.

There is a Wild Rose cookbook which is fabulous. Many of the recipes I have been making are from that cookbook – some have been bearable, and get me through the day (haha) but others are decent enough that I will add them to my repertoire even after the cleanse. Others still I might just tweak a bit and keep in there.

So without further ado, let’s get going on my Tuesday (Day 5) on my cleanse:

Breakfast:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

As I said yesterday, with no sweeteners allowed on this diet, unsweetened applesauce has become my saviour. A few days of nothing sweet and trust me, your tastebuds will be screaming for applesauce.

This morning I made myself some oats using:

  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats (they are allowed as part of your 20% acidic foods)
  • 1 cup almond milk (almonds are the only nuts allowed in the 80% group)
  • 1/4 cup almond flour (ditto on the almonds) for protein
  • Vanilla extract
  • Topped with sliced almonds (ditto #3 on the almonds lol) and …
  • applesauce.

I didn’t snack mid morning as I have a dance class at 6pm tonight after work, so will have to have an early dinner, thus all my meals were a bit early today. That meant I wasn’t too hungry between breakfast and lunch…

Lunch:

I failed to photograph :(. But it was a baked potato – potatoes will be your saviour on this cleanse too.

Because your carbs are limited to rice and potato, you really use them to their max! Case in point: a rice pudding I am going to be making myself later on tonight, with lots of vanilla, nutmeg and almond milk thrown in (all allowed items :)).

Baked potatoes with a quick guacamole mash (avocado, tomatoes and garlic mashed together) and a salad is a great, fast meal that will fill you up and satisfy some carb cravings.

And for dessert:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Oh berries, how your sweetness has saved me from many a chocolate craving!

Afternoon snack:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Oh the wonders of juicing! I had an amazing juice on Monday from a vegan, gluten-free cafe close to my apartment. It was kale, spinach, apple and berries and it was amazing.

This failed to live up to those expectations but Orange Julius was the only place I had close by on Tuesday so their apple celery juice was what I had to settle for (I am not allowed bananas or oranges and Orange Julius’s juicing menu is small, so my choices were a bit limited).

Dinner:

An early dinner which consisted of a rice, corn and bean loaf (which did not hold together so was more like ‘rice and beans’) and shredded cabbage salad (with tomatoes and avocado in the mix) topped with Lemon Tahini Dressing (recipe courtesy of the Wild Rose Cookbook).

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

The loaf was really unimpressive and I didn’t finish it and won’t make it again. But the dressing was so good I think I’ll make it even after the cleanse – it was a great vegan, clean-eating version of a creamier salad dressing if you ever want something different to a vinaigrette. Here’s the recipe (adapted from the Wild Rose Cookbook):

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 garlic clove or 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup tahini
  • 1/8 tsp sesame oil

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend till smooth.

Dessert/Late Night Snack:

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

You might have seen this on Instagram as I have made it a couple of times during this cleanse!

I really needed a snack when I got home later on, so I made myself a baked apple using a recipe from The Wild Rose Cookbook, which I have put below. It was great, though because you can have almonds as 80% of your diet I think next time I will substitute the tahini for almond butter. I’m not the biggest tahini fan in terms of eating it plain – I prefer it in things – so the flavour was a bit strong here for me.

In the apple:

  • vanilla
  • tahini
  • cinnamon
  • chopped almonds (on top)

Baked on 325 F for 40 minutes.

So in short I am a bit bored of the lack of options I have on this diet, but I’m full of energy and am already feeling so much more refreshed and energetic than I was in that post-Christmas, carboholic mood I was in!

QUESTIONS:

  • What did you eat today? I can’t wait to look at everyone else’s – much more interesting, I’m sure – WIAWs!
  • If you’re doing a cleanse, what’s your favourite and least favourite part about it?
Comments

  1. i was curious yesterday what your food was like – so this was really interesting for me! i am glad you are feeling great!

  2. The food does not look too bad at all! The dessert looks very good!

    Proud of you! ❤

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says:

    First off, I love your pink nailpolish 😉

    Second of all, major props to you for this cleanse! I’ve honestly never done one myself, but my brother did once and he tried to talk me into it. I just cant imagine going without my morning cup of coffee, but maybe it would be a good thing to do.

    • Aw thanks Brittany! The polish is Essie’s Fiji – my fave! And you’ll be glad to hear this cleanse actually lets you have up to 2 cups of coffee a day…I know, right? I was shocked too. I don’t drink it but I was just amazed it allowed it!

  4. Thanks for sharing! It sounds like a do-able cleanse, especially with the potato and rice allowance…I’ll have to check it out!

  5. your apple looks GREAT! ;]

  6. What good looking eats my friend!!! I would eat this even if I wasn’t on a cleanse!!

    Where is the cafe??

    xxoo

    • Oh Kris you would love this cafe! It’s full of gluten-free goodies, everything is vegan and a lot of it is raw. The juicing is the best though! They do smoothies too. It’s called Buddha-ful and it’s on West 1st @ Lonsdale in North Van (opposite Waves Coffee). Sooo good!

  7. I love the ‘my crazy sexy life’ website. So much inspiration!
    Great eats.

  8. This is an interesting clense. I’ve always though that cleanses are very restricted in calories so I’ve never done one out of fear of losing weight. Your clense seems pretty filling so maybe I’ll give it a try 🙂

    .

  9. Very interesting..thanks for sharing!!

    I love that you have a place to go to for juice! I’m so jealous!! How was the kale in your juice? I’ve always wanted to try it in a smoothie but I wasn’t sure!

    • Oh it’s wonderful but if you’re just starting out with kale get them to put more spinach than kale – and make sure stems are removed! They are the most bitter part :). Check out juice places like Jugo Juice, Booster Juice or Orange Julius (I think some of these are in the US) – they do juicing too, though they may not have a lot of options (for example, Orange Julius doesn’t offer kale or spinach, I know that)…enjoy!

  10. Your dessert looks amazing! And healthy! I can’t wait to recreate this at home 🙂

  11. I am on day 2 of the cleanse! I too am finding myself full of energy and don’t feel sluggish at all! I want to go out and do things! Aside from a little abdominal cramping, and mild gagging while trying to swallow my pills/drops, I am proud of myself. Cheese is the hardest thing I’ve had to give up. I have a 2 year old and it’s hard to cook two different meals sometimes, so I’m trying to keep it simple. Today I had:
    Breakfast – Steel cut oats with chopped almonds and heated frozen berries in their juices and fresh strawberries on top.
    Mid Morning Snack-Green apple with Almond butter
    Lunch- Hard boiled eggs over salad, with home made salad dressing (basic oil and lemon spiced to the max).
    Snack- snacked on almonds, a plum and rice cakes throughout the day when I was hungry.
    Dinner- Roasted chicken stuffed with Chives, Garlic,Rosemary and half a lemon, Fried potatoes, spinach and a green salad!

    -very basic, but today was great! Didn’t have any cravings and looking forward to each meal!

    • Congrats – you’re doing it exactly right. I found the best way was to go back to basics too and to be honest, I think that’s what our bodies prefer! I honestly found at the end of my time on the cleanse that I was finding the most basic flavours from nature the best – fruit juice was such a sweet treat haha! Keep at it and you’ll do great 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] favourite way to eat them on this cleanse has been with a side of the lemon-tahini salad dressing I posted yesterday. If you leave the dressing in the fridge overnight, it thickens up really nicely […]

  2. […] Baked apple: stuff with 1 tbsp tahini, 1 tbsp chopped almonds, 1 tsp vanilla, cinnamon (232 c, 11.3g F, 30.6g C, 4.3g P) […]

  3. […] Baked apple: stuff with 1 tbsp tahini, 1 tbsp chopped almonds, 1 tsp vanilla, cinnamon (232 c, 11.3g F, 30.6g C, 4.3g P) […]

  4. […] Baked Apples (this is a detox recipe – for a more indulgent dessert, pour maple syrup in centre of apples too!) […]

  5. […] cleanse of choice, as I blogged about last year, is the Wild Rose Detox, which I realized – fittingly – was actually created here in […]

  6. […] cleanse of choice, as I blogged about last year, is the Wild Rose Detox, which I realized – fittingly – was actually created here in […]

Let's chat!

