Healthy Peanut Butter Honey Granola

As the weather is getting warmer my breakfast tastes are moving away from my many oatmeal loves towards something a little – well, cooler.

I’ve always been a cereal fan but I have been on a great kick lately of incorporating healthy fats and proteins in my diet and cereal only tends to give me … well, carbs.

So in the spirit of keeping my good ol’ macronutrient balance on the right track, I set about with the task of making a healthy granola.

To many people just the word granola indicates health. But they could not be more wrong. Most regular granolas you buy at the store are:

  • High in calories
  • Loaded with sugar
  • Loaded with fat
  • Weak in protein and high in simple carbohydrates

This does not a healthy breakfast make!

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

I think I achieved my goal (with major thanks to Katie, whose granola bar recipe inspired and helped me to come up with this granola!), as this granola offers:

  • Under 150 calories per serving
  • Naturally sweetened with low-GI sweeteners
  • Just 4g fat per serving but it’s all healthy fat, courtesy of the peanut butter (you can use any nut butter or nut butter replacement you like)
  • Nearly 6g of protein per 1/2 cup serving. I have mine on top of nonfat Greek yogurt for a real protein kick!

So here we go…

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Healthy Peanut Butter Honey Granola (adapted from Katie’s Homemade FIT Granola bars recipe)

INGREDIENTS (makes 12 1/2 cup servings):

1 1/2 cups Rice Krispies gluten-free brown rice cereal or other puffed grain cereal
1 1/2 cups Kashi GoLean cereal, or All-Bran twigs (Kashi GoLean is high in protein, so replacing it may change the protein count slightly)
1 cup rolled oats
1 scoop (about 5 tbsp) vanilla protein powder
1/4 cup agave nectar
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon

DIRECTIONS:

1. If you want your granola a little more ground up, place the oats and cereals into a large Ziploc bag and bash with your fist or a rolling pin until they’re a bit more crushed. If you don’t mind chunkier granola, skip this step.

2. Preheat the oven to 350 F. Pour the cereals and oats into a large mixing bowl and add the protein powder.

3. Heat the peanut butter slightly in the microwave to soften, then add the agave, honey and peanut butter to the bowl. Sprinkle over the coconut, salt and cinnamon and combine, using a spatula, your hands, a spoon – whatever works!

4. Grease a square cooking dish with oil or cooking spray and pour mixture into the dish. You can press it down slightly if you want to, just to level out the mixture.

5. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden on top. Bring it out of the oven and let cool for another 10-15 minutes. Cut out squares and, using your hands, crumble gently into a Tupperware container or mason jar for storage. Mine still maintained some clusters but otherwise crumbled. Depending on how loose you like your granola, you can crumble it more or less.

6. Serve with milk, Greek yogurt, on top of a smoothie – however you like! Enjoy!

Note: You can add in dried fruit and nuts too, but it will affect the nutritional information shown below. You can also omit the protein powder without making any other changes to the recipe.

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Nutritional information below is per 1/2 cup serving. This recipe makes 12:

Nutritional information courtesy of caloriecount.about.com

Comments

  1. I am seriosuly loving this recipe! Granola from the store really is chalk-full of tons of sugar and fat and the serving size is 1/4 of a cup usually… I don’t think so! Thanks for the new idea 🙂

  2. this granola sounds great! and i love that you get 1/2 cup serving size for only 150 calories. making this soon for sure! thanks!

    • Thanks girl! I can’t see what I am saying but I hope it’s a thank you :))

      • ok just made this granola and this stuff is kickin’. are these nutritional stats for real? (i’m seriously asking). it seems too good to be true. i even find it a tad sweet with the 1/2 cup of sweetener – is that what you usually use? i know you aren’t a huge sweet person. it may also be because i could only find sweetened coconut. maybe i’ll adjust next time. i’m pretty excited about this…just so you know. 🙂

      • The stats are for real! So long as you’re measuring out a half cup and they were calculated based on unsweetened coconut – sweetened may be different in cals and sugar, obviously (in 1/4 cup like the recipe asks for you’re looking at 10g of sugar in sweetened vs 2g in unsweetened). I don’t find it too sweet because I don’t eat granola on its own – and I never have a whole half cup in one sitting – I usually sprinkle just 1 or 2 tbsp on Greek yogurt. Also, I think when I made it the first time I made it for my mom but when I made it the second time (for myself) I actually had run out of agave so subbed in brown rice syrup, which is not as sweet. So that may have made a difference too. But the cals are based on honey and agave, and my protein powder, which has 115 cals per scoop. Yours may have more or less. So glad you liked it!!

  3. I am a granola addict! This recipe looks amazing, great stats too 😉

    Happy Monday! Hope your eyes are feeling better! xoxo

  4. I might try this 🙂 Though, you think I can omit the agave and honey? Im not much of a sweet person.

    • You definitely could but it would be more like flakes than clusters of granola, as it’s the honey or agave that help it stick together. I used very little of both but if you want to use a different sweetener you could. For example, brown rice syrup is much less sweet. Molasses is too but will give a very different flavour. My mom doesn’t like a sweet granola either and she has hers more like toasted oat flakes ;).

  5. Looks delish! I love granola, but yea, it’s usually so high in fat and calories. I never really understood why it was marketed as healthy….

  6. Oooh, looks scrumptious! Great pictures, too 🙂

  7. Healthy peanut butter honey granola?!? You’ve stolen my heart! 5 of my favorite words! 🙂 Can’t wait to try this out, looks delicious!!!

  8. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a granola recipe, let alone a PEANUT BUTTER granola recipe, with such a great nutritional profile! Nice work!
    I’m wondering if this would work with sugar-free maple syrup?

  9. Fab recipe Anna! Cereal and granola is my favourite food group. Yesterday I went to the shops to buy a box of gf rice krispies to make some treats and got a death glare from another shopper for diving into my box the second I stepped out of the grocery store. I had just worked out. I was hungry. It happened. But truth be told it would probably have happened anyways. Haha! Hope ur having a good start to the week 🙂

  10. Nice stats! I’m pretty sure it’s impossible to find store-bought granola with nutritional info like that. And with peanut butter……..mmmmmm I love peanut butter! 🙂

  11. love homemade granola and how you can adapt it to your own personal taste. the fotos look very apetising as well. i researched oats for a hub i did on granola and was supprised at all the health benefits including helping reduce risk of cancer. if that doesn’t encourage anyone to make their own granola…. nothing will

  12. Agave has been found to have a much higher, than previously thought, glycemic index. It’s not a healthy sugar substitute. I’m wondering if something else would work in it’s place.

    • I haven’t found that to be the case with my reaction, and seeing as high-glycemic sweeteners are what I am sensitive to, that is what I go on – plus the research is very divided. But definitely, if you find it tough to consume agave, you can swap it with brown rice syrup, maple syrup – any sticky, liquid sweetener. Enjoy!

Trackbacks

  1. […] cup Healthy Peanut Butter Honey Granola with 1/3 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt (190 c, 4g F, 26g C, 11g […]

  2. […] So I decided to try and make protein granola bars, basing my recipe off of my favourite granola, my Healthy Peanut Butter Honey Granola. […]

  3. […] I just made this peanut butter, honey, & cinnamon granola! & it’s wonderful! so you should make it […]

  4. […] Healthy Peanut Butter Honey Granola […]

Let's chat!