Protein Muffin in a Mug and the Vitalicious Giveaway Winner!

WARNING: The photos in this blog post are going to be less than stellar. BECAUSE I sold my camera! Yay! I’m selling it so I can buy myself a nice new Nikon SLR, probably in the Boxing Day sales. So until then I am relying on my iPhone for pictures. Apologies in advance. But truthfully, a protein muffin is not the prettiest thing to photograph, so it’s not like I’m ruining it for you ;).

On Monday I hosted a Vitalicious giveaway, that is now at an end (winner announced in just a second!). One of my favourite ways to eat a Vitamuffin is in a mug with milk. I’m sure this disgusts many but there are a few out there who agree with me on the deliciousness of soggy food! πŸ™‚

Either way, the reason for my repeat telling of that somewhat embarrassing fact is because if you DIDN’T win this week’s giveaway, I have a great recipe for you to make a healthy, low-fat, vegan, gluten-free and protein-rich chocolate muffin all of your own in less than 3 minutes and with minimal mess. No need for oven preheating, no need for batter whisking…simple quick and easy, I promise.

When I need an evening snack or a protein-filled breakfast that’s quick and delicious, this is my absolute go-to.

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Before I give away the recipe, however, let’s give away a Vitalicious muffin sampler! The winner is…

Molly!

You were chosen completely at random – congrats! Email me at theguiltlesslife@gmail.com with your name, address, phone number and email address and I’ll get your goodies shipped to you asap!

Now back to some protein business!

Quick note: I don’t sweeten the batter because my protein powder isn’t bitter and I find the cocoa powder does a great job, but you could certainly add a teaspoon of agave nectar or maple syrup. As much as I like natural sweeteners though, I do try to stay away from sweetening things if I don’t absolutely have to. Sugar is still not a necessary food group, even in natural form! πŸ™‚

So if you’re looking for a quick protein snack to keep your blood sugar steady in between all of those Christmas goodies this weekend, zap this one up. If you’re visiting family, the only ingredients you’re likely to need to bring with you are protein powder (easily carried in a Ziploc) and maybe some flaxseed if that’s not an ingredient that’s likely to be around your family’s house. Almost everyone has apple sauce at this time of year, right?

You can serve this covered in almond milk like I do (see below for my previously displayed soggy muffin habit) or have it as a muffin, cut in half and maybe topped with nut butter or yogurt or some fruit (berries would be delightful with this chocolate muffin!).

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

With this lovely treat you get 4.5g fibre and just under 28g protein. Yup, not bad!

Anna’s Chocolate Protein Muffin in a Mug

INGREDIENTS (makes 1 large muffin):

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

1 scoop vanilla protein powder (you can use chocolate if you have it, but it’s not necessary. It will just make the recipe more chocolatey – never a bad thing!)
3 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tbsp flaxseed mixed with 3 tbsp warm water (leave to sit for about 5 minutes to get flax egg)
3-4 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 to 1 tsp vanilla essence (more if using artificial, less if using pure)
Any add-ins you want: shredded coconut, for an extra treat maybe a few chocolate chips, maybe a teaspoon of peanut butter to give it that chocolate peanut butter taste…it’s up to you!

DIRECTIONS:

1. Grab a mug. Spray it with cooking spray.

2. Mix protein powder and cocoa powder together until one colour.

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

3. Add in all other ingredients – mix.

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

4. Pour into mug. Cover top of mug with a paper towel (and it will rise a bit so I recommend using a mug that won’t be completely full once you’ve put all the mix in).

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

5. Microwave on regular power for 3 minutes.

6. Tip out of mug onto plate/bowl and serve. Simple as that. Enjoy!

*NOTE: There are lots of protein muffin in a mug recipes out there in the blogosphere. If you want a different variety, Chelsey’s pumpkin protein muffin is a great one!

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Check out the stats on this baby:

Nutritional information courtesy of caloriecount.about.com

And to everyone, have a WONDERFUL, safe, enjoyable and MERRY Christmas weekend! If you feel yourself getting stressed at any point, just remember:

Comments

  1. Happy Friday!

    I love protein muffins in a mug, so good and so easy to make! I have not made one in a while ; )

    Have a wonderful day love! xo ❀

  2. Curses I wanted to win! haha I will just have to be jealous instead πŸ™‚
    Great recipe too dear…. I should change things up with breakfast today and make this!

    • Awww I hope to have more giveaways in the future so keep entering! The odds have to fall in your favour at some point! Thanks Tessa πŸ™‚ xx

  3. i’ve made a (completely unhealthy) chocolate cake in a mug before. this is much healthier and still chocolate. win.win.

    • I know, I love healthy versions of my favourite recipes! If you want this extra fudgey just add more applesauce – I like mine really heavy and dense but some people don’t, so I just used the norm for the recipe above. But often I sneak a couple of extra spoonfuls of applesauce in there πŸ˜‰

  4. Oh yum! What an awesome idea. I love the protein powder and flax in there. Happy Holidays!

  5. that looks delicious! and I have all the ingredients. thanks for the recipe πŸ˜€

    on a side note, soooo many of the photos on my blog were taken with my iPhone, before we got the DSLR. They take better photos than some point and shoots πŸ˜›

    • That’s true, these were taken in bad artificial lighting so they’re not really representative at all of how good the iPhone can be as a camera. I used to have a point and shoot for occasions when I didn’t want to drag my heavy SLR around but now I just use my phone – so brilliant! I just got the 4S and it has an 8MP camera which is the same as my 5-year-old SLR! Haha. So glad I sold my SLR now – can’t wait to get my Nikon πŸ™‚

  6. What a great idea and sounds really healthy too! I’m sure I’ll be stopping back here again.

  7. Hi , what kind and brand of protein powder do you use?

    • Hi Jane! I use a whey protein powder by Kaizen, called Whey Gourmet in Vanilla Ice Cream flavour. If you’re in the US a great protein powder is Sunwarrior, I just haven’t been able to find it in Canada and other hemp/rice or other natural proteins that aren’t whey that I’ve tried here I haven’t liked.

      I really liked a pumpkin protein powder I sampled at Whole Foods a couple of weeks ago but the stats weren’t as good – 10g of protein in a scoop rather than the 25 I get in my whey powder. Hope that helps? πŸ™‚

      • Hi! Actually I live in Canada.

        The whey protein I buy currently is aa 100% whey isolate (can’t remember the brand name)…i don’t do concentrate ones and usually get the isolate pure.

        I’ve tried brown rice protein powder in Nutribiotic, Heartland Gold and some generic brands — their not great, but I guess their not bad either…just a bit chalky….I think Sunwarrior looks great too , but it is freaking expensive…holy moly…

        Your protein muffin looks moist (is it? I don’t like dry things). I’m not vegetarian and definitely eat a ton of protein as it is so I’m not sure how I’d fit this in somewhere…but looks neat…I’ve seen versions with whey protein, brown rice protein…or some with flax eggs and some with eggs and some with egg whites…yipes: recipe overload πŸ™‚

  8. Yay!! I won! Thanks for hosting an awesome giveaway!

  9. Hubba Hubba this looks great for a christmas eve breakfast, I should have made this!!

    There is something about muffins and cake stuff in the morning that sends me over the moon! I love it!

    I hope you have a VERY Merry Christmas and a weekend full of love, laughter and good food πŸ™‚

    xxoo

  10. I am just wondering about the protein mug, my nutrition training told us that flax,when heated above 150 degrees, turned the polyunsaturated fats from CIS confirmation to TRANS confirmation, thus taking the healthy fats and turning them into dangerous trans fats. Have you heard anything regarding this?

  11. ^^ that should read “conformation”, not “confirmation”, LOL!

    • Hi Julie! Thanks for your comment; I honestly have not heard that myself so I can’t comment on that claim itself, but if you want to avoid any possibility, just use a chia egg replacer instead (if you’re not vegan, you could of course omit the flax + water and just use an egg). If you are vegan and want to avoid using flax, just mix 1 tbsp white chia seed meal with 3 tbsp water and let it sit for 1-2 minutes. It will provide the same function in the muffin!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Protein muffin in a mug – might want to add some sweetener as the powder is not as sweet as most flavoured proteins Copyright to Anna Wootton […]

  2. […] love Vitamuffins, or any muffin really, drenched in milk and eaten with a spoon (I’m really weird that way, […]

  3. […] Protein Muffin in a Mug (222 c, 6.2g F, 15.1g C, 27.4g P) […]

Let's chat!

