WIAW: Waffle Mania!

I’m still sensibly snacking, I promise :). But right now I’m just in waffle mania mode. I’m having way too much fun with my waffle maker…as you will see.

Thanks to Jenn for hosting!

BREAKFAST:

…was this gorgeous vegan chocolate chip protein waffle…I guest posted on Char’s blog today, so if you head over and check it out you’ll find the recipe for this beauty (I’ll post it here on Friday).

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

SNACK:

I’m on the sensible snacking train with my loaded protein granola bars that I am in lovveeee with. I know you all got wooed by the picture of the chocolate-covered bar in Monday’s post, but I’m telling you, it’s the peanut butter drizzle topping that’s won my heart!

Accompanied by my usual mid-morning caffeine pick-me-up – my good ol’ cuppa tea.

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

LUNCH:

Leftovers of Skinnytaste’s Broccoli Mac’n’Cheese that I customized even further by throwing in some peas, using coconut oil instead of butter and subbing in nooch for half the grated cheese. So yummy!

I had this for dinner on Monday night with some salad, but was in a rush for lunch so I just reheated up a portion of the pasta itself. Hey, there’s veg in it!

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

And I’m drinking some homemade iced passion tea lemonade, using Tazo iced tea filterbags and Vitamin Water Zero Lemonade flavour (they sweeten it with stevia!). Zero sugar, zero calories, every bit as good as the Starbucks version for just cents!

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

SNACK:

Nothing new here – I grabbed my usual green protein smoothie to fuel me up before my Zumba class!

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

DINNER:

I headed out with the ladies from my Zumba class for a bite to eat after class, as it was the last one of the session. We hit up a local favourite in North Vancouver – the Rusty Gull Pub – where I was pleasantly surprised by their menu. Not just heavy, meat-laden pub food! I grabbed an amazing salad. Yum :).

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

SNACK:

Before bed I had my usual case of the munchies but it was an easy fix with some grapes and a small bowl of Kashi GoLean Original protein cereal in some unsweetened soy milk (So Nice is my favourite soy milk brand – I photographed the packaging so you can see it).

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

As extra, unpictured sweet treats throughout the day I also had a couple of ginger snap cookies and a Godiva truffle!

QUESTION:

  • Name a snack you had today (or link up to your WIAW: Sensible Snacking post if you’re participating!)
Comments

  1. Your breakfast waffle looks amazing! I am loving it!

    Happy WIAW love! ❤

  2. Emily Butler says:

    I tried the peanut butter cliff bar yesterday and it was pretty good! Of course high in sugars and costly, I should probably just try out your protein bar recipe!

  3. Yum yum and yum! The protein waffle looks amazing!! :). Have a great Wednesday!

  4. peanut butter drizzle! the weekend can’t get here soon enough so i can make these! i really hope i can squeeze in some time to do it! i was even thinking yesterday afternoon, ‘man i wish i had some of annas granola bars for snack.’ ha!

  5. Mmmmm ❤ Always love your WIAW 😉 I am loving greek yogurt for my snacks lately 😀

  6. Been reading your blog for a few months now- always such inventive breakfast creations! I haven’t had a waffle in ages- but I know what I will be having this weekend! And those bars look fantastic, I must make those, too!

    • Thanks so much for reading – and commenting! I love to hear from you guys. I try to be as inventive as I can be with breakfasts as it tends to be my favourite meal of the day :). Thanks so much for your kind words!

  7. Thank you so much for guest post, Anna! I’m so excited about your waffle recipe, and I HAVE to buy a waffle maker now!

    I’m gonna check out the broccoli mac & cheese! It looks delicious 😀

    • Thanks so much for the opportunity girl! Yes, do check out Skinnytaste’s recipe – I veganized it completely except I kept a couple of ounces of cheddar, but the nooch tasted so good that next time I will probably just sub nooch for all the cheese!

  8. Girl! Those waffles look great! I’m always curious what others put in their smoothies…yours is such a pretty shade of green (not to be cheesy, but that honestly draws me to it). I’d love to know what you put in it! I love the frozen banana/peanut butter combo, but I need to branch out more!

    • Thanks Lauren!

      I know, I do the banana/PB combo too and I haven’t branched out much, to be honest. My favourite right now is kinda like an oaty/cookie-type version of the banana/PB green smoothie: I combine 1 C spinach, 1 C almond milk, 1/2 frozen banana, 1 tsp peanut butter, 1 tsp almond butter and 1 T oats. Then I blend all that up with 1/2 scoop – 1 scoop (depending on how much protein I need) vanilla protein powder and some ice cubes. It tastes really like an oatmeal cookie!

      As I said though, that isn’t much of a branch out. I have tried fruit versions but they’ve been massive watery gross failures. One thing I would say is check out Ari’s blog recipe page for green drinks, here: http://thediva-dish.com/recipes-2/green-drinks/ – she has a TON and she does make awesome green smoothies (she’s the one that got me onto them in the first place!)

  9. Homemade pineapple jalepeno salsa and organic tri-color tortilla chips!

  10. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says:

    Just catching up now and MAN, those protein granola bars have my name written all over them!!

    Have you tried the Crystal Light lemon water drink? I’m pretty confident that it’s sweetened with Truvia, but I’ve been resisting making the purchase!

    • I haven’t! I’m not sure we get it up here in Canada but I will look next time I’m at the supermarket – I always assume that Crystal Light is full of artificial crap so I never look; I’ll check it out now! Thanks girl!

  11. Gosh you always have such great recipes, and breakfast ideas especially! Thank you for sharing another recipe I am SAVING 😀

  12. Happy WIAW! Your waffles are beautiful!!! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] previewed this beauty in WIAW this week, as I’ve been having one for breakfast gee…uh…nearly every day! This was a guest […]

Let's chat!

