Vegan Chocolate Chip Protein Waffle

You knew it was coming..!

I ended last week with a protein waffle recipe so I thought, why not make it 2 for 2? Seeing as how I’m totally obsessed with protein waffles right now.

I previewed this beauty in WIAW this week, as I’ve been having one for breakfast gee…uh…nearly every day! This was a guest post I wrote for Char on Wednesday, so I’m now posting it up here in case you missed it!

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Also, some of you have been asking me about the fact that I add protein to so many of my treats, so I thought I’d copy and paste straight from my post for Char, where I explain that a bit:

One thing you will learn soon after you get to my blog is that YES, I love treats, and love natural sweeteners, but I also love making my treats into protein treats. As vegetarians and vegans we have to be careful we get enough protein. For some people, this just means getting the standard recommended amount (I think the formula usually works out to something like 45-55 g per day for the average woman), but everyone’s different and for myself personally I find I do much better on a diet of about 90-100g of protein per day. 

I started eating this much protein leading up to my recent eye surgery, as my naturopath told me it would help aid recovery if I stuffed my body full of fruit, veg and protein! I couldn’t believe the difference – I was full longer on much less, I was getting so much stronger from my workouts and – the biggest noticeable difference for me (because this is an issue that has plagued me forever!) is that my nails are so strong! They’re not weak and flaky at all. They are long and strong and I love it! I owe it all to protein, and of course the vitamins and minerals I get from a pretty clean, produce-packed diet.

Having said that, if you’re not keen on protein-ing up all your goods, just sub more flour in for the protein powder in this recipe.

If you have any more questions about my protein-rich diet, shoot me an email and I’ll get back to you!

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Vegan Chocolate Chip Protein Waffle

INGREDIENTS (makes 1 large waffle or 2-4 small ones, depending on the size of your waffle maker):

3 tbsp oats
3 tbsp spelt flour
1/2 scoop protein powder (vanilla or chocolate) – about 2.5 tbsp
1/8 tsp salt
1 packet stevia
1 tsp baking powder
2 tbsp chocolate chips
3/4 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup almond milk

Peanut butter sauce (optional):

1/2 tbsp peanut butter (I use Better ‘n Peanut Butter)
2-3 tsp almond milk or milk of choice
4 drops liquid stevia or sweetener of choice (agave, maple etc)

DIRECTIONS:

1. Blend oats in a blender to make flour.

2. Pour oat flour into a bowl and add spelt flour, protein powder, salt, stevia and baking powder. Mix well.

3. Fold in chocolate chips.

4. Add almond milk and vanilla, stir. Pour into a heated waffle maker and cook according to your waffle maker’s instructions.

5. While waffle is cooking, make peanut butter sauce (if you want), by placing all ingredients in a small bowl and heating in microwave for 15-20 seconds. Stir well.

6. When waffle is done, place on plate and pour peanut butter sauce over. Top with sliced banana, extra chocolate chips and any other topping you prefer!

Copyright to The Guiltless Life

Nutritional information per waffle (if recipe makes 1, not including peanut butter topping):

Nutritional information courtesy of caloriecount.about.com

*NOTE: Peeps, if you are without a waffle maker, have no fear! Check out my recipe for vegan chocolate chip protein pancakes.

QUESTION:

  • Do you find you do better on a higher protein diet – or is this not something you have ever tracked?

Comments

  1. YUM! I have a waffle maker and have not put it to use in a long time! I should make this, I think coconut flour could replace the spelt perhaps?

    Happy Friday! ❤

    • I think it could, though you might need some kind of a starch to bind it – like tapioca maybe? I often use almond flour instead of coconut if I’m making a pancake/waffle recipe gluten-free as the higher fat content makes for a great texture, but try either and let me know!

  2. I’ve been meaning to make waffles for a while now, thanks for the reminder!
    Must try this recipe, though i’ll be making it gluten free- yum 🙂

  3. i seriously need a waffle maker. but, i do love the idea of this peanut butter sauce even just on toast or Greek yogurt? oh the possibilities…

  4. Emily Butler says:

    I too do much better on a high protein diet, but my nails are still so thing and frail, they’ve always been like that! I was just thinking the other day about figuring out what could be the cause and how to fix it. Most of my protein actually comes from dairy in the form cottage cheese and greek yogurt or a protein smoothie. I usually have chicken or fish every other day or so, but I definitely love how well my body digests plant based proteins, I’ve been trying to add more in in place of meat. I don’t think I could go without my cottage cheese though!! How do you do it???

    • I do use dairy for protein – probably one or two servings a day. All the things you said: cottage cheese, Greek yogurt. I use eggs a lot too – either whole eggs on their own or liquid egg whites in recipes. However, my protein would never hit the levels it needs to without my protein powder. I have a scoop in a smoothie every day but also use it in making all my baked good snacks, so I am never snacking on something without a good protein source in it!

      I also love nuts and try to always cook meals with pulses etc, though they tend to have a higher carb content than protein. Lastly, I try to choose grains that have higher protein contents too. My go-to for most things is oats ground into a flour, because their protein content is so high, and I love almond and coconut flours too for that reason!

  5. Looks awesome Anna! Good for you for focusing on much needed protein. I too find that protein provides such important grounding and stability in a vegetarian diet. These look delicious!

  6. LOVE. Looks so good and love the sound of 17 grams of protein. My kinda waffle 🙂

  7. These waffles look fantastic! I love all the protein.

  8. I love you so much 🙂 You are truly a genius! These look FANTASTIC babe!!!!!

  9. I still can’t get over how good this looks, & I can’t stop craving waffles now 😛 Thanks again for guest posting, Anna! ❤

  10. This looks amazing and I love that it’s vegan! It’s hard to get in a lot of protein at breakfast in the mornings as a vegan but I’ve been experimenting with protein waffles lately!

  11. If only i had some protein powder to make this beautiful waffle creation 🙂 Looks fantastic!

  12. ittybitsofbalance says:

    Now that you mention it, I’ve noticed that my nails have gotten A LOT stronger lately as well, and I’ve been upping my protein intake these past few weeks too! I didn’t know why they weren’t breaking, but now it all makes sense! Is there supposed to be a link between more protein and stronger nails?

    • I haven’t done specific research but it was my understanding that increased protein helps strengthen everything, like hair and nails. I don’t notice the difference in my hair because I have super thick hair as it is but the difference in my nails is just nuts! So glad you’ve seen the benefits too!

  13. Sam @ Fit for my Fork says:

    I like adding protein powder to baked goods too!! Since I upped my protein before Christmas I’ve definitely noticed a difference in the strength of my nails as well.
    Happy birthday to you (and Canada!) Anna!! Hope you have a lovely long weekend!

  14. A waffle that’s high protein and good for you… can you come round my house and cook for me please?!

  15. yes please! i need to dust off the old waffle iron…

Trackbacks

  1. […] (made with pumpkin!!), which I will post soon, if you’re not all sick to death of the waffle recipes by now! Copyright to Anna […]

Let's chat!